We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious change of pace”

The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: American
Description: We proudly serve old-fashioned, signature fried chicken and all the soul-food fixins. We cater comfort food!
Restaurant details
Description: We proudly serve old-fashioned, signature fried chicken and all the soul-food fixins. We cater comfort food!
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We opted for a change of pace one evening of our recent vacation and chose a fried chicken dinner. We were going to take it back to our condo, but the counter outside called us and decided to just eat there. The chicken was excellent, crispy and tender. For sides, we tried the mac and cheese, fried okra and harlem special. The okra and mac and cheese were average, nothing outstanding, nothing horrible. My husband thought the flavors of the harlem special didn’t go well together. We will be back on our next vacation and I’ll go for the chicken next time, lots of chicken…..

1  Thank jen829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We appreciate you choosing to spend an evening with us, when you needed a change! I was pleased to hear that you both enjoyed the chicken. We have lots of different sides, so let us know what you think of your next selection! We look forward to seeing you again jen829! Thank you for the review!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is good, no-frills, fried chicken. I highly recommend the black beans and rice, though, as that was my favorite part of my meal. Soooo delicious and smoky and flavorful. Chicken was tender and not dry at all. It’s worth stopping here for a bite to eat. Just be prepared for take-out because there is no indoor seating.

Thank Krystee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

This review is amazing Krystee09! Thank you for sharing about your visit! We are so grateful for the recommendation, and hope to see you again!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We lived Upstate NY where we have "Hattie's" that beat Bobby Flay one of the best around and this rivals it sorry to say. The Chicken was so juicy and moist on the inside and the crunch on the outside ! We were driving to Captiva after getting our rental car and looking for something quick so we could get checked in. This was an amazing find!!! In a little strip mall at a light. All the sides were just as good , potatoes, corn bread, biscuits and Mac and cheese. Four of us had so much food we took it to the condo and had lunch another day and it was still really good !!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IBJosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

It's a privilege for our chicken to be compared to well-known establishments like these! We are delighted that the four of you had some leftovers to enjoy the following day too! Thank goodness for the red light that lead you to our door! And thank you for this incredible review!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This has got to be the best fried chicken I’ve eaten (don’t tell my wife). My wife and I have eaten here several times and each time the food was fabulous. Not only is the chicken top shelf but the sides are just as delicious. DO NOT pass on the corn bread it’s a treat you will not forget soon. The staff are the most delightful and engaging folks you’ll meet on the island. Don’t leave the island without stopping by this small eatery it will be one of the best stops you’ll make. Bon Appetit.

Thank Jeffrey & Eugen... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We love hearing from our regular customers! Your recommendation means so much to all of us, here at The Pecking Order! Thank you for sharing this terrific review!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Spent a week in Sanibel in June 2018. Fried chicken done right! Very tasty, tender, and juicy. The biscuits are what you would expect down south even though the owners aren’t southern. We did carry out so after the 10 minute drive home some of the fried sides weren’t as good as they probably are. Would recommend diving into the sides immediately. The pecking order is mainly a carry out that has limited seating. Definitely on the list when we go back.

Thank Journey438434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for choosing to spend time with us during your vacation! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our southern style comfort food! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Sanibel!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing