We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont pass this Chicken up !!!”

The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: American
Description: We proudly serve old-fashioned, signature fried chicken and all the soul-food fixins. We cater comfort food!
Restaurant details
Description: We proudly serve old-fashioned, signature fried chicken and all the soul-food fixins. We cater comfort food!
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We lived Upstate NY where we have "Hattie's" that beat Bobby Flay one of the best around and this rivals it sorry to say. The Chicken was so juicy and moist on the inside and the crunch on the outside ! We were driving to Captiva after getting our rental car and looking for something quick so we could get checked in. This was an amazing find!!! In a little strip mall at a light. All the sides were just as good , potatoes, corn bread, biscuits and Mac and cheese. Four of us had so much food we took it to the condo and had lunch another day and it was still really good !!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IBJosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

It's a privilege for our chicken to be compared to well-known establishments like these! We are delighted that the four of you had some leftovers to enjoy the following day too! Thank goodness for the red light that lead you to our door! And thank you for this incredible review!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This has got to be the best fried chicken I’ve eaten (don’t tell my wife). My wife and I have eaten here several times and each time the food was fabulous. Not only is the chicken top shelf but the sides are just as delicious. DO NOT pass on the corn bread it’s a treat you will not forget soon. The staff are the most delightful and engaging folks you’ll meet on the island. Don’t leave the island without stopping by this small eatery it will be one of the best stops you’ll make. Bon Appetit.

Thank Jeffrey & Eugen... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We love hearing from our regular customers! Your recommendation means so much to all of us, here at The Pecking Order! Thank you for sharing this terrific review!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Spent a week in Sanibel in June 2018. Fried chicken done right! Very tasty, tender, and juicy. The biscuits are what you would expect down south even though the owners aren’t southern. We did carry out so after the 10 minute drive home some of the fried sides weren’t as good as they probably are. Would recommend diving into the sides immediately. The pecking order is mainly a carry out that has limited seating. Definitely on the list when we go back.

Thank Journey438434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for choosing to spend time with us during your vacation! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our southern style comfort food! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Sanibel!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We decided on just having a meal in the room for a change and after my wife reading all about this place we decided to order from here and we were not disappointed in the least. The young lady who answered the phone was just as helpful in person, They had many different sauces to take and we were particularly fond of their house buffalo wing sauce. The chicken was as moist as could be with the breading complimenting the chicken, not overpowering it. Really enjoyed being greeted by their friendly dog as well as the fact that their online tips were going to help out Haiti. You just get a vibe that this is a place that truly appreciates your business and takes pride in their product. There is no doubt that we would order from there again when we make it back. I think that I paid less than $30 for 8 pieces of chicken, a generous side of delicious mashed potatoes and gravy along with a bowl of chicken soup that our son loved.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ta_user_06152018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Everyone here (Including Adrian) send their thanks for this amazing review! We're happy that your family enjoyed the chicken and sides, and that your first visit was a great one! We can't thank you enough, for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! Safe travels my friend!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Picked this place for a quick lunch based on prior reviews. Lives up to ratings. Very nice decor. Eat outside at counter. Chicken was juicy and delicious, wonderful breading. We had mac n cheese and fried okra sides. Both were great. Friendly staff, quick service. May be best place for inexpensive eats on island.

Thank stanroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeckingOrder, Owner at The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

I'm pleased to hear that our southern flavors didn't let you down! Thanks for the great review stanroc!
Bridgit & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Pecking Order Fried Chicken & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing