We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$377
US$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
US$332
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Cottages(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$291
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Road Villas(Sanibel Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
334
262
91
55
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
262
91
55
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfree bikesevery morninggranola barschairs and umbrellascleaning staffyogurtgarden viewpaddle boardscream cheesekitchen areabeds were very comfortabletennis courtswest gulf drivelarge poolsmall kitchenfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is awesome. Spa rooms with small kitchen and a few steps from the beach. The front desk people are so helpful they gave us flashlights and a 5 a.m. wake up call so we could be on the beach early enough to get good shells. We always stay here when on Sanibel.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jan,

Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

I'll be sure to pass your very nice compliments on to our team; I'm glad they were able to ensure you had an awesome shelling experience.

Thank you for your loyalty, we always appreciate the opportunity to serve you once again.

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had to leave a day early due to our 11 month old son getting a bad sunburn.
We booked thru Travelocity and when we returned home contacted them to see if we could get a refund on the 1 night we didn't use and they said they would have to contact Sunset Beach and confirm with them that we left early and then they would refund us the 1 night but when they called and spoke with someone named James he said it wasn't their problem and hung up, so therefore no refund for us.
Now about the inn itself. The room was terrible, the carpet was dirty,
the bathroom moldy and the a/c very noisy.
There are so many nice places on Sanibel to chose from so stay away from this run down over priced place.
Another thing we didn't like was for a place that has over 50 rooms they only have about 10 sun umbrella's and 20 chairs on the beach, most quests were never was able to get any.
This place needs to be updated because right now it's so run down it's not worth staying there even at $50 a night.
Like

Room Tip: stay at a nicer place.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andrew,

I'm so sorry you had such a negative experience at Sunset Beach Inn.

As I'm sure you can see from our other reviews, we pride ourselves in making sure our guests have a great vacation with us, that our staff takes great care of our guests, and in working hard to keep our facilities clean and in top condition. It's clear that the incident involving Travelocity and our front desk associate marred your impressions of the Inn and for that I am also very sorry.

We sincerely hope your son is feeling better. I hope you brought the issues you mentioned to our staff's attention during your short visit but if you did not the opportunity to do so due to your son's condition, I hope I can discuss this with you, and see how we may try to regain your trust in us for a future visit. Please contact me directly (email or phone as noted below) at your earliest convenience.

Again, I'm very sorry that we let you down and look forward to speaking with you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
The Inns of Sanibel
239-472-3181
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been here a couple times now with my wife and sometimes with the kids. Great place for the money. Free bikes and kayaks. Called ahead to arrange some roses in our room for my 25th wedding anniversary - no problem thanks to James! Would come back - and WILL come back. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fred-stopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Fred,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest once again and appreciate your taking the time to share such a nice review. I'm glad the resort has continued to exceed your expectations and provide a great vacation value for you and your family over many visits.

I will pass your compliments on to James and join him in congratulating you on your 25th anniversary!

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great lazy day type of get away. Free bikes. Kayaks beach chairs umbrellas. Great pool. Friendly staff. Most have full kitchen. Screened in porch all facing pool and gulf. There are free gas grills to use tennis courts and they provide breakfast baskets with muffins milk coffee bagels yogurt .

Laundry room at facility and free Wi-Fi

Great for Friends couples etc.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael,

Thank you so much to taking the time to share your great impressions of Sunset Beach Inn with other travelers. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found so much to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had 17 in our party. The location was perfect for our family. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the bikes, paddleboards and the Kayak. The whole family enjoyed looking for shells and the many great places to eat on the island.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony. All rooms on the top two floors have screened in balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0use0f7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear h0use0f7,

I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to Sunset Beach Inn. It was please to have you all with us and I'm glad the resort and our staff met the needs of your large family gathering.

It looks like you truly the best of Sanibel Island - not only your time at our Inn but also the shelling, incredible local dining and biking throughout the island.

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time so share such a great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Wellman
General Manager
bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews