We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once we got off the lot the second time, we were good to go”

Billy's Bikes and Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 25 miles of shaded bike trails, the best way to see the natural beauty of Sanibel and Captiva Islands is on a bike. Billy’s rentals have been providing island style transportation to visitors and locals of Sanibel and Captiva for over 15 years. With a wide variety of adult and children's bicycles to choose from, as well as beach wheelchairs, beach umbrellas & sand chairs, scooters, two or four passenger surreys, Billy’s Rentals is your one stop island transportation and recreation headquarters. You’re on island time now so slow down and enjoy the sights of America’s most beautiful barrier island on the seat of a bike from Billy’s Rentals. Billy's has two Periwinkle Way locations, delivery available for multiple day rentals or order online and save 5%.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to recreate a fun honeymoon activity and rent a tandem bike to tour around Sanibel. Once they handed us the bike, off we went. We crossed the street, got on the bike and made one revolution of the pedals, and my knee hit the handlebars. We headed back across the street for an adjustment, but the uninterested young man just said we’d have to get two individual bikes, that’s the way the bike are. I’m 5’9 and was on the back, but we rented a tandem on our honeymoon from Billy’s and I wasn’t any shorter then. Fine, we got two individual bikes, and off we went. As we passed other people on tandem bikes from Billy’s, I’ll admit I was a bit irritated. I’m sure if I had complained or spoken with a different employee, perhaps I would have had a better outcome for the tandem. The bikes are average, rental bikes and we had no issues with the two individual bikes. Payment was quick and easy.

Thank jen829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillysSegwayTours, Manager at Billy's Bikes and Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies that we couldn't recreate your Honeymoon tandem bike ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"segway tour"
in 53 reviews
"beach wheelchair"
in 12 reviews
"repair shop"
in 7 reviews
"flat tire"
in 10 reviews
"bike rental place"
in 7 reviews
"bike shop"
in 12 reviews
"in great shape"
in 9 reviews
"four hours"
in 8 reviews
"beach chairs"
in 6 reviews
"visited sanibel"
in 7 reviews
"two hours"
in 7 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 6 reviews
"whole family"
in 7 reviews
"great selection"
in 6 reviews
"ding darling"
in 13 reviews
"parking lot"
in 7 reviews
"helmets"
in 43 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rented Catrikes for the day to try them out. A Villager & an Expedition. The wife chose to rent a regular single speed beach cruiser. Rode all the way out to Bowman’s beach and back on the Villager with a lunch stop at The Island Cow. Then rode the Expedition out to the lighthouse & back. The wife didn’t do the second leg as her regular bike had worn her out. I was ready to go again..., after the second leg. About 18-ish miles all in.
Wonderful experience.
Great staff.
$75 & tax for the bikes for 1 day( they graciously allowed me to switch trikes, that’s not the deal, so if you would like to see if you can work it - be very very nice...)
We’re now looking at buying our own, but will probably start with the used market closer to home.
If you’re getting on the middle age/older end and the regular uprights are becoming more painful than you’re willing to deal with, try these recumbent trikes - they’re amazing.

Thank GunnyS2862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillysSegwayTours, Manager at Billy's Bikes and Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the Catrike Rentals from Billy's Bike Shop. We are glad you got to see so much of the island and had fun doing so in comfort on a Catrike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Billy’s because of all of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We rented a Surrey which was so much fun, but a real workout. It’s like doing a spin class for four hours on the hardest resistance setting ;-). I was a bit disappointed in the customer service. From start to finish, no one was friendly at all, almost grumpy :-(. You will find what you need at Billy’s but don’t expect anything else. Wish I could have given them 5 stars, but it just wasn’t that.

Thank spicymom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillysSegwayTours, Manager at Billy's Bikes and Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, great to read that you had fun on the Surrey. It certainly is a test of endurance and you did well to ride for Four hours.
We are sorry you were disappointed with our customer service and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wonderful service, great value. The people at Billy's really know bikes. They make renting very easy. Riding a bike all over Sanibel was one of the best parts of my vacation. I highly recommend parking the car and riding a bike while on Sanibel.

Thank SongBird212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillysSegwayTours, Manager at Billy's Bikes and Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We recently vacationed on Sanibel island and had a great time.The highlight of the vacation was biking together as a family to all the destinations on the island. On our first day there we rented bikes from Billy's for three days, the service was both friendly and professional,I definitely recommend.

Thank avrahamst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillysSegwayTours, Manager at Billy's Bikes and Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy's Bikes and Rentals also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Billy's Bikes and Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing