We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“review”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

the hotel is very clean and comfortable. walking to "downtown" St. Augustine is only 3 minutes. pleasant and friendly staff. the pool and hot tub were open until at least 10 pm which was great for night tubing (most hotels close them at 8 or 9.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We appreciate you coming and enjoying yourself at our little hotel while enjoying what St. Augustine has to offer!
We are adjacent to the historic area. It's so close, that in my younger days, I could've thrown a football to it!
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and hot tub area. We officially close it sunset but generally leave it open for guests to enjoy until much later as long as no one is being noisy or disturbing other guests.
We hope you come back again soon! There is much more to see and enjoy here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    308
    135
    46
    28
See reviews for
228
333
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have stayed at many BW hotels and this was not my favorite. On the plus side, we did not have to drive are car at all. We could walk everywhere or take the local trolley all over the city. Great and beautiful city to see. Down side, the bathroom was smaller then a closet, the rate was high due to a carnival being in town, although rates are higher on Friday and Saturday. Lobby and breakfast area very, very small. If you are looking for location this is good, but nothing over the top.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenadec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for coming to our little hotel and giving us your thoughts!
Yes, we have smaller rooms and a smaller breakfast area than we would like. Our property was built some 50 years ago before travelers started demanding larger rooms. We do the best we can with our hotel and have made many changes and upgrades. We have even more planned over the next year!
Come back again and see what we've done!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is across the street from Ripley's and midway between the Old Jail and the historic district. I'm not a fan of outside hallways but the price of this hotel and location made it a good option. Free breakfast was okay, the area was very small but clean and the seating is limited; however, they do offer free room service for breakfast. Parking throughout the city is limited and that is true for the hotel. The lot was full and tight. There are a few spots available for the hotel next door at the visitor center. The room is small but has been redecorated tastefully. Free wi fi was good. The bathroom has the shower, toilet and sinks all in one room, so that meant only one person could get ready at a time. I prefer the sinks outside the shower/toilet room. For the price, the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for coming during your spring break and telling us about your stay!
You are correct that we are in the center of the big attractions in downtown St. Augustine. To our North is the Old Jail. To our South is the majority of the old town, including the fort, old schoolhouse and St. George St.
I wish we had more space to provide, but, we do the best we can with what we have.
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our updates. We're currently working on enclosing the bathroom and vanity together with a pocket door to better divide the area and give better privacy!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were surprised by the quality of the room and service for the price and great location to all the St. Augustine attractions. Our room was recently remodeled and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was self-serve, but was plentiful. Be aware that there is street noise from the homeless population of St. Augustine area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We always love hearing from our guests! Sounds like you enjoyed the convenience of our location and our recently updated rooms!
We are walking distance to most of what the historic center of St. Augustine has to offer. Ripley's Red Train and the Old Town Trolley both stop right across the street from us!
We apologize for any noise issues from the nearby neighborhoods.
Come back again soon and see what else we've done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We knew already that the rooms would be small, so that wasn't a suprise. The room itself was updated as they stated, and very clean. Parking is tight and cost $5 per spot. The only real complaints I had was related to breakfast. No eggs or meat, and most items were individually wrapped, so not very eco-friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for coming and telling us about your stay!
As an older property, our rooms are smaller. You're correct we have updated them quite nicely! Almost everything in every room is brand new!
We do offer the standard Best Western continental breakfast on a daily basis and they are individual portion items. It does include hard boiled eggs breads, pastries plus make your own waffles! On the weekends, we offer a full hot breakfast that includes sausage patties, cheese omelets plus biscuits and gravy!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
420 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.1 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.7 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 km away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn

Property: Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price range (per night): R1 625 - R3 934
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing