We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cute place!”

Taberna del Caballo
Ranked #174 of 632 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

The lighting is mostly by candle and lantern which helps set the mood. The Barman is awesome!! And clean.. didn’t just stand around on his phone.. he was actively cleaning which is great! He recommended some amazing beers and the Cuban sandwich is delicious !!!

Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher F, Director of Operations at Taberna del Caballo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Excellent! Wonderful to hear about the positive staff experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

On this very hot day the only thing we knew we really wanted was a cold AC place to eat at. Came inside the small restaurant structure, the first thing that is noticeable is the mold smell. Not sure how healthy that is but at this point we just needed to feed the kids. 3 year old ordered a ham and cheese melt, ok, 12 year old ordered a frozen uncooked cheese pizza, 7$. Needless to say he didn’t eat it. I myself ordered a Caesar salad 9$ and added blackened shrimp to it 7$. Come to find out the salad only has 5 tiny shrimp sitting on the top. Poor food, expensive prices, tourist trap.

Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher F, Director of Operations at Taberna del Caballo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hopefully you had a chance to speak to a manager on duty about the issues with your food. We would have liked the chance to make things better for you while on property. We apologize now for all the problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Our family of 4, including children ages 11 & 12, happened upon La Taberna while we were strolling around St Augustine....saw the menu and the cute outdoor seating area and decided to grab dinner. We were not disappointed! Turned out there was live music, fresh house-made cocktails (tropical mojito—yum!), and delicious vittles! We had a variety of good eats—goat cheese terrine (Delish! Make sure you eat it with the peppery bed of arugula!); wings; flatbread; kid's ham & cheese; and awesome blackened fish (grouper) tacos! Our server & mixer of the yummy tropical mojitis, Chad, was awesome, too! Highly recommend!

Thank PittsHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher F, Director of Operations at Taberna del Caballo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for recommending us. So happy you enjoyed everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

If you are visiting Colonia Quarter and need a break from the heat, step right through the gate and you're there. All around great great place to hide from heat and crowds. Nice cold beers and tasty tapas

Thank IGNACIO P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher F, Director of Operations at Taberna del Caballo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for giving us a try on your visit to the Colonial Quarter property. We are glad you found us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped in because we wanted a drink and heard the Music (Stu Weaver) awesome tunes and great sound. Our server, Tyler, was fast, polite and engaging. Couldn’t ask for better. We ordered a couple tapas and wow... delicious! Only criticism would be the hostess that treated us while pleasant was dressed offensively in my opinion. A pirate T-shirt that was cut too low... not a prude but didn’t work.

Thank Burgi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher F, Director of Operations at Taberna del Caballo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

We apologize for Ariel's attire, she is one of our guides as part of the Colonial Experience, and St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum Tours that are also part of our property. Hence the look. Sorry again.

Thank you for all the compliments on the food and rest of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna del Caballo also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Taberna del Caballo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing