We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

A Ghostly Encounter
Ranked #22 of 134 Tours in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Join us on a Ghostly Encounter. Enter the Love Tree Cottage to hear strange and unusual stories of those who refuse to leave. We also visit two cemeteries, the city gates the grounds of the Old Fort and many of your guides favorite haunts. Tour will last approximately 90 minutes with about 35 to 40 minutes of actual walking. People come from all over Florida, Ponte Vedra, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine Beach, Hastings, Palatka, Daytona Beach, and Orlando to name a few to take our tour. We have been touring longer than all other ghost tours in St. Augustine, except one, which now does not have the same owner. We offer an exceptional experience for the entire family and are pet friendly as well. No one tries harder to make you happy than the guides at "A Ghostly Encounter"!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I was excited to go on a ghost tour of such an old city however within the first few minutes I was deeply disappointed. The guide spent so much time elaborating on useless details thatit was impossible to follow her stories. She led us to grassy areas and then laughed when we were all getting bitten up by bugs. And after 50 minutes of a 90 minute tour we still had not heard one significant ghost story nor moved more than a block. She spent way too much time looking at photos of supposed orbs on the cameras of other participants. Her history was vague, her stories rambling, and overall this was the worst ghost tour I have ever been on. In fact we left early because it was just not worth getting all bitten up for.

Thank debikruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, Public Relations Manager at A Ghostly Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We have reached out to you, and are sorry you had a not pleasant experience. You should have received an email, by now detailing the steps taken to try and alleviate the situation. I reached out to Tracy and she is also sorry you didn't enjoy your tour and felt you had to leave early. We always try our best and we thank you for letting us know your concerns. I have also reached out to the city and Anastasia Mosquito Control regarding the situation with the bugs. We have had a very very wet Spring and Early Summer and unfortunately that means mosquito's but they assured me they are aware and taking steps to do what they can to alleviate any problems.
Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ghost tour"
in 57 reviews
"walking tour"
in 20 reviews
"great tour"
in 25 reviews
"haunted house"
in 6 reviews
"interesting pictures"
in 3 reviews
"story telling"
in 7 reviews
"spooky stories"
in 3 reviews
"paranormal activity"
in 6 reviews
"great stories"
in 4 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 4 reviews
"fun experience"
in 4 reviews
"history lesson"
in 5 reviews
"small group"
in 3 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 4 reviews
"old city"
in 4 reviews
"guide"
in 90 reviews
"tours"
in 43 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We want to thank Dusti Winters for the best ghost tour! It was truly an amazing experience!! We enjoyed the history of Mr Fredrick, Elizabeth, Emily, Edward, Ericka, Quinn and James.

Thank reginagreen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, Public Relations Manager at A Ghostly Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank You! We appreciate your review and are delighted you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Great way to spend the afternoon. I’m not saying that you’ll have a ghost experience, but you’ll learn a lot about the history of St. Augustine. The guides are very knowledgeable and are a blast to hang out with.

Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, Public Relations Manager at A Ghostly Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thanks Mr B, we appreciate your review. The ghosts wouldn't make much sense without the history...We are delighted you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, Public Relations Manager at A Ghostly Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim N, Public Relations Manager at A Ghostly Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to A Ghostly Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing