We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise ”

JD's Bistro & Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
JD's Bistro & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For an Evening of Premiere Jazz and Fine Dining, visit JD's Bistro & Grille in Port Charlotte. Currently Open Tuesday through Saturday starting at 4p.m. Enjoy Happy Hour and Early Dining Specials from 4 p.m.-6 p.m. Live Jazz delights our guests starting at 6 pm nightly. The Impressive Menu created by Chef Cortes will ignite your culinary imagination as the Award-Winning Wine list awakens your inner sommelier. Our servers will provide a memorable dining experience with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need. Reservations are recommended especially on weekends. Walk-ins are always welcome. Our extensive martini list and bar menu are available for a more casual dining experience. Private room available ! It's a must see before scheduling your next business meeting or small party! JDs is also available for catering, from office lunches to wedding receptions, contact Lori Laughridge.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were in town for a family’s birthday party. We stayed at the only hotel close to the party location. The Days Inn next door to JD’s is a nice one or two nights stay. The front desk said they partner with JD’s for breakfast and dinner was good. We were tired of driving into Port Charlotte so decide to have dinner instead of driving down the street to many other restaurants. When I opened the door to the restaurant I realized right away we were totally under dressed and were asked if we had reservations. I looked around and noticed many empty tables. Hostesses looked at each other and figured let’s give them the back table. So we were sat and waited for a bit for service. Server was very polite but it got very busy and service was slow. We had the grouper and salmon and were very good, so was the cream brûlée. The jazz band was very good. If we lived near by or visit again, I certainly would dine at JD’s only dress much more appropriate.

Thank MChoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Director of Sales at JD's Bistro & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for sharing your positive dining experience. Our guests arrive wearing anything from beach wear to formal wear!! I chuckled when reading, "Hostesses looked at each other and figured let's give them the back table." because, I assure you, that was not the case. Typically reservations are made in advance, and the tables are assigned and se up for the guests arrival. Walk in guests are a welcomed delight!! However, they are seated at the tables that have not been reserved!

Additional staff is currently being trained. On your next visit, you can expect consistent, attentive prompt service, regardless of the volume of business!

We look forward to your next visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I will keep this simple and quick- clean- simple but elegant - fine details with smooth calm lighting - superior waiter staff and detailed menus- perfect menu for the seafood and meat lovers - reservations a must - love martinis you will not be disappointed- the jazz band will not disappoint you even able to whip out a Bruno Mars tune! 8 dollar a glass house wine and 30 dollar steak was great - overall was impressed and loved it all - great place for a date night !

1  Thank Tcswf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Director of Sales at JD's Bistro & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow! Quick and to the point and MUCH appreciated. Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We strive to provide a "dining experience", just as you described. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to compliment David Bell, the new general manager, on the awesome job he has done at turning things around at JD’s! He takes time with each guest making them feel welcome. He’s professional, personable, and fun! It’s obvious he has a great rapport with his staff and the musicians. He seems to be very dedicated to seeing that the music is the best in Southwest Florida which complements Chef Danny Cortes’ food taste and presentation which is phenomenal. David is an asset to JD’s!

2  Thank Bluegillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Director of Sales at JD's Bistro & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much! We feel the same way!! Thank you so much for taking the time to notice and compliment David!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner here very much. The salmon was perfect. The shrimp and grits were delicious!!! Loved Kit Moran’s music. We will be back.

1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Director of Sales at JD's Bistro & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We look forward to your next visit. We are so happy that you had an exceptional dining experience and are VERY appreciative of the positive feedback. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We joined a group of 14 on Sat. Evening. The service was terrible. The food was terrible for all of us!!! Prices were out if site!! 27.00 for two martinis. This place has gone down hill severely!!! Would never go bsck. Couldn't even make a decent drink for anyone.

Thank Aapwilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, Director of Sales at JD's Bistro & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We apologize for your disappointing experience and appreciate your feedback. Though your experience is a rarity, it is very important for us to know when service and quality do not exceed our guests expectations. It is the only way for us to improve. Thank you once again! We would love for you to return for two martini's, made to your specifications, on the house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JD's Bistro & Grille also viewed

Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to JD's Bistro & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing