We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fathers Day Fun”
Review of BK Adventures

BK Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bioluminescence Tours are a Florida must-do adventure for those who want to a magical experience in nature. BK Adventure is the Orlando area's top tour company for bioluminescent kayaking and rafting. Try the clear kayaks if you want to experience this phenomenon with a 360 view of the glowing water. Not up for a night tour? Why make friends with some Manatees and Dolphins on our day tours. We take you to the Merritt Island National Wildife Refuge to see the best of Florida's nature. This habitat near Kennedy Space Center is the most bio-diverse estuary in North America. Guest are sure to see exotic birds, tons of marine life and of course, Manatees and Dolphins! Join us any day or night for one of our amazing outdoor adventures, and see why BK is rated Florida's top eco-tour company!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a family of seven on a great manatee tour. We saw many manatees and even experienced a few manatee rodeos. Our tour guides were great. Sorry if I get their names wrong but I believe it was Avi and Robert. We were all inexperienced kayakers but they were very helpful and I would recommend this trip to anyone looking for something different than the theme park days.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank andrewa2152018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BK A, Owner at BK Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for this super review of the Manatee and Dolphin Tour. You got the names right - Avi and Robert! And we will pass on your kudos to them. Glad you got to see lots of manatees!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bioluminescence tour"
in 21 reviews
"banana river"
in 11 reviews
"kelly park"
in 11 reviews
"kayak trip"
in 10 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 9 reviews
"jumping fish"
in 8 reviews
"launch site"
in 8 reviews
"merritt island"
in 6 reviews
"mountain biking"
in 5 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 4 reviews
"night tour"
in 4 reviews
"tour guides were great"
in 4 reviews
"private tour"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 4 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 12 reviews
"great adventure"
in 5 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BK A, Owner at BK Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early when the sun was still setting and we saw a ton of manatees in the water just along the shore. When we went out we saw quite a bit of bio. It wasn’t super bright since we went early June but it was still very cool to see, especially for someone who has never seen it before. The further along in the tour the brighter the bio got as well. There were a couple manatees who went right under our kayak and were hanging out with us while we were out in the water. We had two guides who were very personable and they explained to us about the bio and also how to use our paddles to find some comb jellies! My #1 tip is don’t forget to put on bug spray!

Thank llgarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BK A, Owner at BK Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for this great review! We love having guests like you on our tours. And we agree with the bug spray recommendation - it is a wildlife refuge, and some nights mosquitoes are unfortunately part of the deal. Thanks again for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BK A, Owner at BK Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There were many things wrong with our experience on the Bio-luminescence kayak tour and I would recommend you book with someone else. The one good element was that when we spoke to the back office person they were accepting of our comments and gave us a refund with out question.

There were no obvious signs for BK when we arrived. There are a couple of sheds on the grass by the car park. The shed on the right is BK. We started by joining the other company at the same spot (and they looked far more organised on the water) until we found out we were in the wrong place.

The website says a max of 8 double kayaks with two guides per tour. We had 18 kayaks (one guide and two assistants) in our experience, of which probably three kayaks were single. It was chaotic with that many on the water, kayaks crashing into others and difficult to get close to the guide if she did speak. The guide did not provide good information or clear directions, she spoke very quickly, and so was very hard to understand. Terrible experience.

Twice we paddled off, only to retrace our path. In the end we really didn’t go very far. We didn’t see any bio-luminescence and only a some folk saw the comb jellies.

We were abused by a random in a boat because we didn’t all have lights - he shouldn’t have done it in the manner he did, but he was right that not every kayak had lights. They counted out the kayaks, and did a couple of counts on the water....but didn’t count us back in when we returned to shore. In fact there was no wrap of the experience - we just landed on the beach and wandered off. Poor safety practises.

It could have been sooo much better.



3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BK A, Owner at BK Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi! You are absolutely right, it could have been so much better and 99% of the time it is. That particular night there was a series of events that put our guides, who are usually fantastic and get great reviews, under pressure. The lead guide did say she did her best, but was unnerved by a belligerent boater. We did contact Brevard County about the boater, and they have stated that the local authorities would be alerted to prevent any future such incidences.

All of our kayakers get a light, and they are instructed several times throughout the tour to shine their light to alert their presence in the water. That is the Coast Guard regulation for a non-motorized small craft. So, all the kayaks did have a light, but some of the people did not turn them on when instructed, and that seems to have caused part of this very unusual tour.

We are sorry that this tour was not the usual 5-star experience that BK Adventure has such a great reputation for. It was an anomaly, which is why the manager happily refunded you the price of your tour. We hope you enjoyed your Florida vacation overall. Please feel free to contact me personally if there is anything else you would like to share, or anything helpful you may like to add. We love showing our guests the best of Florida Adventure, and my family and I appreciate your patronage. - Ram BK, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BK Adventures also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
 

Been to BK Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing