We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seashell tour- red tide warning”
Review of Captiva Cruises

Captiva Cruises
Ranked #5 of 20 Tours in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Do not go if red tide in the area! The beach was littered with dead fish & there was also a dead dolphin Was a nice boat ride & the guides were great, but the ride tide made the beach very unappealing. The company did not provide any warnings about red tide until after the boat had left the dock.

Nice boat ride to very buggy path- walk fast! It only takes a couple minutes to cross from the boat dock to the beach. Don’t even worry about bug spray unless you’re last off the boat. Beach area would be wonderful if no red tide & dead fish. The shells are plentiful but common- you’ll need snorkel gear to look for whole sand dollars or nicer shells that aren’t broken.

It’s VERY hot on the beach & there is no shade or any facilities. If there is no red tide & you can swim, would be a fun place to spend a couple hours.

1  Thank abba006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cruise but sad to hear about the red tide. Nature can be a beautiful experience but it also can be not so great. Unfortunately red tide is not a fun part of nature. Red tide can be here and gone tomorrow so it is a hard one for us to predict and we try to do our best. It is not a common occurrence which is the good news.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lady chadwick"
in 67 reviews
"dolphin cruise"
in 66 reviews
"cabbage key"
in 163 reviews
"cayo costa"
in 130 reviews
"boat ride"
in 66 reviews
"collier inn"
in 30 reviews
"boca grande"
in 36 reviews
"top deck"
in 22 reviews
"great cruise"
in 20 reviews
"return trip"
in 22 reviews
"dolphin watch"
in 14 reviews
"captain and crew"
in 14 reviews
"day trip"
in 39 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 52 reviews
"tarpon lodge"
in 12 reviews
"cheeseburger in paradise"
in 25 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 9 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Took the Dolphin and Wildlife cruise and turned out to be a major tourist trap. After explicit instructions to be at the dock at 3:30 pm we ended up sitting on the boat in the heat waiting for a party who showed up at 4:10 pm. Didn’t see anything during the hour and a half cruise until the last 5 minutes when we were almost back to the dock.
Ship was crowded with plenty of kids running around. I’ve taken many of these types of cruises and none was this bad.

Thank Maize L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your review and we are so sad to hear about your experience! The Dolphin and Wildlife Cruise is typically one of our most popular and loved cruises. Because dolphins are wild animals we can not guarantee that they will be following the boat for the full hour and a half. We are happy that you did see dolphins on your trip. We thank you for being on time for the cruise and unfortunately not everyone follows the directions that we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This was our first trip to the Captiva/Sanibel area. We fell in love with Captiva and elected to take a half day shelling/beach cruise to Cayo Costa with Captiva Cruises. We loved it so much, we did it again 3 days later AND took a sunset Wildlife cruise with them too!

These guys are fantastic. Very knowledgeable and they make their cruises FUN! George (who was our host on both of our Cayo Costa cruises) was SO nice. We learned a lot about the area from him and he answered everyone's questions. On the way back to the dock, he gave several passengers a Sand dollar shell and allowed all of the children to steer the boat. Our daughter got to do that twice on both cruises and loved it!

George was genuinely delighted to see us a second time on the same cruise and was such a great host. When we return next year, we will definitely be sailing with Captiva Cruises again.

George, if you're reading this - sailing (twice!) to Cayo Costa with you guys was definitely a highlight of our trip! Many thanks, from us, the family from NJ :)

Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Wow!!! Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed 3 cruises during your stay!!! We will pass the kind words about George on to him....we agree he is pretty great! Thank you for cruising with us and we look forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We took the cruise over to Cabbage Key. Even though it pretty much poured the rain down all the way there and all the way back we had a great time. The crew was awesome and shared a lot of the history of the area. We even had a couple of dolphins swim alongside the boat. I would highly recommend taking one of their tours!

Thank Tac39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your cruise to Cabbage Key!....even though the weather wasn't great. Thank you for cruising with us and hopefully you can come back when the weather cooperates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

As Island residents we never tire of taking visitors on one of Captiva cruises. Travel to Cabbage key and eat a cheeseburger in paradise. Dolphin galore and great historical talk f during the trip.

1  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for your nice review! We are so happy to have locals come out and enjoy a cruise! We look forward to seeing you again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captiva Cruises also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing