We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a venue, what a seafood pot!”
Review of Pop's Sunset Grill

Pop's Sunset Grill
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located across the Intracoastal from Nokomis Beach near the Albee Road bridge, Pop's Sunset Grill provides waterfront dining with boat access. In operation for over 30 years, offering happy hour specials from 3-6 p.m., fresh fish specials, live entertainment, indoor and outdoor seating in a relaxed atmosphere. Pop's is a member of the "Sarasota Originals" and was awarded the 2018 Certificate of Excellence by Trip Advisor. We recently added a new multi-level elevated bar under a spacious tiki. Pop’s Tiki is built on the former Urbanek's side of the restaurant and offers nearly 180 degree views of the Intracoastal, an awesome bar with four 75 inch TVs, fire pit tables, an expanded gift shop - Pop’s Bou-Tiki - and live music.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This was a great dinner and they accommodated our group of 10 very well. The seafood pot was filled with shrimp, corn and lobster tails. Really a good value. Great taste

Lots of history in this place

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank plivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Patron Satisfaction Checker at Pop's Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hello plivingston! Thanks for bringing the whole gang to Pops and for the nice compliments on TA! The Steampot is a favorite of many of our Patrons- happy to hear you enjoyed as well! Hurry back and cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 1 703 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere great food.Zack and Donna such great people who work here.I also have to take my hat off to Mundo the fry cook best ever onion rings. Can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Patron Satisfaction Checker at Pop's Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Greetings Debbie L! Thank you for your recent visit to Pops and for the very nice compliments on our fantastic staff on TA? Hurry back! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Visited on a weeknight, place was busy. The kids had fried pickles which were very good, hubby and I had shrimp and lobster bisque, which needed salt, at the very least. My son got the grilled margherita pizza which he loved. Daughter had coconut shrimp which she said were good, but the "Caribbean" dipping sauce was mostly mayonnaise. Hubby had fried shrimp basket. I had shrimp and scallops basket. Seafood was good although the portion sizes were small, the baskets consisted mostly of fries. I had to search for the tiny scallops in my basket. Our server was super friendly, and our apps and meals came out quickly. But honestly we felt it was overpriced for what we got. The water views are fantastic, though. All in all, not a bad meal, but there are other places nearby where we'd rather spend our money.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Patron Satisfaction Checker at Pop's Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello Maria S! Thank you for making Pops your stop recently. We appreciate your taking the time to provide some feedback on your meal and service! One of our goals is to always try and provide good value for price paid, I am sorry to see we may have fell short of your expectations. Happy to see you otherwise had a nice visit and experience. Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

This is my second time now dining at Pops. Our first visit was a 10 top, those are never easy to get right especially when you’re with older people. The servers accommodated to their every need and there was no mixup with their orders. the quality of food did not disappoint we ordered all different types of seafood and everyone enjoyed there meals. Let’s say there was nothing left to take home.
My most recent visit was my husband and I, we tried some different things this time such as the calamari, salmon and mahi. All delicious! They have fair prices for what they serve. The fish and calamari are my absolute favorite! A generous portion of calamari with yummy marinara sauce. The mahi season well and cooked to perfection.
This is a perfect place to eat regardless of the company you’re bringing and regardless of the occasion. You’ll find people of all ages enjoying a meal here.
We will be back!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Seg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Patron Satisfaction Checker at Pop's Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello Sega93! Many thanks for your multiple visits to Pops and for taking the time to share your compliments on TA! We appreciate your nice comments on our menu items and fantastic staff! We do look forward to seeing you again, hurry back! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

My party of 6 ate at Pop’s while on vacation. It is definitely a local place and you wouldn’t see it if you weren’t looking for it. As appetizers we had the shrimp and lobster bisque as well as a dozen oysters. The oysters were reasonably priced. The bisque required several dashes of salt and tasted as if something were missing. Three people in our party ordered the shrimp and scallops which I thought were reasonably priced for the area. The shrimp and scallops were scrumptious. The batter was light and crispy. I tried the edamame salad and didn’t care for it but my husband liked it. Another person had the coconut shrimp and said they were good. The beer prices were steep. Our waitress was less than attentive but she did have quite a few tables. Overall, the food made up for the empty tea glasses.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank setravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don P, Patron Satisfaction Checker at Pop's Sunset Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Greetings setravels! Than you for visiting Pops and for sharing your experience on TA! We appreciate the feedback and attention to detail and will share your comments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pop's Sunset Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pop's Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing