We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oily, overpriced food”

J.B.'s Fish Camp & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Had the fish sandwich and it was so oily the breading separated from the fish and the fish filter fell out of the sandwich! The fries were soggy and tasteless. The food was very overpriced for a fish camp. If it tasted good, it may have been worth the price, but it didn't. Won't eat here again.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank retiredworker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1 778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1 778 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2021

First - all staff were wearing masks correctly. Second - if you eat outside, the picnic tables provide fairly good space between groups, though a little more space between would be nice. Third - we are totally addicted to their Rum Runners which really pack a punch! Fourth - a dozen raw oysters, fried scallops, corn on the cob and peel and eat shrimp with blackened seasoning, plus Rum Runners, made a perfect meal. We had to go back for another and then back again to try a few more things. I'll admit the blackened grouper was not very spicy, but it was nicely cooked. The oysters were perfect and absolutely fresh every time we had them and the scallops were wonderful. Next time we are in NSB, JBs will be one of our first stops!!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank michsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

We wanted to eat good fish. Few customers wearing masks. We ate outside and the tables were all close to each other, didn’t feel comfortable sitting that close to others. We took the last table and moved it ourselves a little further away. Server wore a mask but the person who brought our food had their mask pulled down, so if we get COVID this trip it will be from that person delivering our food. They told us that they were sanitizing tables in between customers, but the table next to ours turned over and it wasn’t sanitized. I did not feel safe eating there.
I ordered grilled grouper and my husband ordered blackened J’s whitefish. Both dishes were bland.
Food was a 3 and COVID precautions was a 1, so rated a 2.

Date of visit: February 2021
3  Thank Judy34160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

The best place for rock shrimp in New Smyrna. One of my favorite places to eat. The best place to watch the sunset.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank t_lingo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021

J.B.'s was recommended to me by several people who travel to New Smyrna Beach regularly and wow - it was fantastic. Awesome margaritas (buy one get one free night), BEST hushpuppies I've ever had, amazing fish tacos and a beautiful sunset.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J.B.'s Fish Camp & Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to J.B.'s Fish Camp & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.