We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/28
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$210
View deal
Expedia.com
US$219
US$203
View deal
SAVE US$16
Free cancellation until 21/05/28
PricelineUS$214
Hotels.comUS$203
HurbUS$219
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 200)
Filter reviews
1 204 results
Traveller rating
341
348
183
158
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
341
348
183
158
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel lake dora rocking chairs front porch view of the lake old florida walk in closet step back in time watch the sunset beautiful grounds get away wedding anniversary shops and restaurants dock floyd tavern history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 204 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2021

Mt. Dora is a cute but small destination and we did enjoy our stay. To the hotel's personnel I found them pleasant and was impressed when they greeted us on check-in with a free bottle of wine and $10 at the restaurant for our anniversary and my wife's birthday. Restaurant service was beyond bad. We had planned a nice anniversary dinner even though the menu was limited and less than creative. My wife ordered the salmon only to find out that they were out. OK. Not one to turn down a free bottle of wine, they were again out of any pinot and unwilling to open a larger bottle. This was after we had to seat ourselves since there was not one to great us for our 6pm reservation. Glutens for punishment we attempted breakfast there the next morning again having to seat ourselves. As we sat waiting for someone to acknowledge us and possibly bring us a cup of coffee we noticed two other tables getting up and leaving because they couldn't get anyone to wait on them. The rooms were poorly furnished even for an older hotel and smelled musty. I very seldom write bad reviews and am more inclined to compliment a well run establishment. We plan to visit Mt. Dora again but it will not be at Lakeside Inn.

Room tip: I cannot recommend staying here but if you choose to do so at least try to get one with a good lake view.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breeves1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2021

My wife and I have been coming to Florida for the winters for a number of years. We have talked with friends who have been to Mt. Dora, but we had never ventured there until now.

We were happy to finally make a road trip here as the COVID crisis seems to be on the way down. I wasn't sure where to stay, so I had to rely on TripAdvisors and maps to decide. This was just an overnighter ... kind of an exploratory trip to see if it would be worth staying longer in the future.

I tire of the chain and cookie cutter hotels, and certainly we have stayed in our share of them. This was an excellent choice for us. Love the feel of hotels like this with views of the lake, rocking chairs on the porch and beautiful grounds to enjoy.

We had a king lake view room which was almost like a mini suite! In fact, all you needed was a small couch and a refrigerator! The panoramic view was wonderful. Lots of lake to look at and relish a sunset if that is your thing! The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. Old country fixtures in the bathroom, it was quite charming! No big screen TV, but that's not why you come to a place like this.

Other than breakfast the next day we did not dine at the hotel (next trip!). We did, however enjoy cocktails at the bar. What a nice bar it is! Lots of old fixtures, photos, etc. to explore. All of the help were extremely friendly and accommodating .They also make a good drink!

The hotel is easy walking distance to the heart of Mt. Dora, and really there is a lot left for us to explore. Neat shops, great restaurants are all there close by. Next trip will be at least a couple of nights!

When we return, and we will, we will definately stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Service
Thank BenGruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021

We stayed here for 2 nights just before Valentine's day and had a wonderful stay. The Inn is old but well kept and while many fixtures are showing their age we found our room clean and comfortable. I think some people may equate old to not clean. Not the case here. And the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location on the edge of downtown was perfect for walking to everything! We enjoyed a nice dinner on the outdoor porch of the Inn one night and the meal was delicious. We also enjoyed the pianist in the large lobby both nights of our stay. A nice touch. We look forward to coming back again.

Room tip: Be sure to enjoy the pianist in the evenings.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

We were so pleased to return to this 1880s historic hotel on Lake Dora. Our king bedroom in the original house was spacious and had wonderful views out to the lake. It was quiet, clean and nicely decorated; it included a sofa, huge closet, refrigerator and windows all around. We were impressed. We first went to Lakeside Inn about 15 years ago when it was in danger of being torn down. Then, 10 Years ago, the a couple, called the Gundersons, took on the unenviable task of renovating and restoring this beautiful Inn and all the buildings on the property. They have so far created a miracle in spite of having to deal with, I suspect, so many issues that most people would have thrown in the towel.

So, how was our visit? First, the staff: We were greeted by a delightful, intelligent lady called Hermanda, who went out of her way to ensure that we were well taken care of. She was such a great advertisement for the Inn. Another charming lady we met the second day, Melody, was also very accommodating. When we were waiting to check in Lilian, very sweetly secured a cup of tea for us. All three of these ladies were also had great senses of humor. You can see we were impressed by staff, who make the hotel atmosphere so welcoming. We had drinks sitting on white rocking chairs looking at the lake on the porch, which had been completely renovated. We had a good breakfast, also on the porch, and wished we could have stayed longer. The atmosphere, the people, the facilities, the room, the service, the setting - these make for a splendid break. We will be back.

To any who are concerned about the age issues at the Lakeside Inn and wish for everything to be modern, I advise looking for those kind of hotels. They are doting every highway we have ever traveled on and are easily forgotten. The Lakeside Inn is special and I hope it is there for our children and grandchildren to enjoy.

Room tip: Rooms either looking at the lake or the courtyard are best in our opinion.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micheleielliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

I'm all for it if it were made well and a double. Nice place, very poor service on front porch, and food is largely overpriced for what you get.
Pretty place. Put some firewood in that huge fireplace rather than a can of sterno.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Cirrusky777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews