We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteless food, great view”

Taverna Sunset Balkony
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Zia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Greek traditional tavern in the most beautiful part of the village Zia. The sunset, the unique view and the friendly staff will be there for you. Υοu will taste traditional meals but do not forget to taste our "secret" specialties
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Got some free appetizers to start, dry bread with nothing to go with it. Girlfriend ordered the meze and I a main course. Which resulted in her eating because they were considered appetizers. So I ate after her and it was an plate of spaghetti with a dribble of sauce and little taste. Felt like some roadside restaurant.

Thank Henk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VACANZEGRECHE v, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Taverna Sunset Balkony, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your recent visit and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely charming restaurant with great friendly service and amazing views. We has a selection of little Greek appetizers that were cooked so fresh and tasty. The restaurant is at the top of the hill next to the church with a very Mamma Mia feel. Views are stunning. A great place !

Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VACANZEGRECHE v, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Taverna Sunset Balkony, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your recent visit and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Very nice restaurant to admire the sunset falling on Kos island. We were a bit unlucky as it was quite cloudy and we couldn’t see a proper sunset, but we still had a nice evening. Food tastes good for a decent price, staff is friendly but a bit slow. Make sure you book a table to be able to sit wher there is the best view.

Thank Sofialamariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VACANZEGRECHE v, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Taverna Sunset Balkony, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your recent visit and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We went here in 2015 so we decided to go back ,but what a let down,we had to send back our meal as chicken was not cooked and when returned the food yes chicken was cooked but the veg / chips was cold , very poor service on the plus side the view is spectacular, and never at any time did staff come over and ask if meal was ok, l will be going elsewhere to eat when l visit Zain's again.

Thank jack881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VACANZEGRECHE v, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Taverna Sunset Balkony, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your recent visit and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Zia is a little touristic location on Kos. The village is situated on a mountain where tour operators organize traditional Greek evenings.

In the higher part of the village, near the Church you find Taverna Sunset Balcony.
This is where you will find the best view of KOS island.

The restaurant itself has a simple traditional card with traditional Greece specialties.
We ordered a mixed plate (not on the menu, so ask for it!!) and some local wine.

Service was good, fast and giving as much time needed so you can install, relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Zia is not the place to stay a whole day, but for sure do not miss out on this little amazing restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fmarcillaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VACANZEGRECHE v, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Taverna Sunset Balkony, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your recent visit and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taverna Sunset Balkony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing