We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate gite in a paradise setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maison des Fleurs

Welcome to the lovely Maison des Fleurs set in blissfully quiet unspoilt countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the lovely Maison des Fleurs set in blissfully quiet unspoilt countryside
The lounge with its lovely inglenook once part of the huge kitchen Another view of the delightful lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Welcome to the lovely Maison des Fleurs set in blissfully quiet unspoilt countryside
The lounge with its lovely inglenook once part of the huge kitchen
Another view of the delightful lounge.
The charming dining area, looking into the lounge, with some local produce to greet you
A modern kitchen
Spoil yourselves and sleep like babies
A stylish bathroom with heated towel rail so always warm dry towels
The garden...what could be prettier?
The tinkle of running water in the ornamental pond, so relaxing.
Watch the dragonflies and smell the roses
A barn door across the courtyard
Steps to the apple loft at the side.
The back lane,so many wild flowers. I've counted at least 9 species of Orchid
The front lane leading to Maison des Fleurs and the welcoming committee
A Shepherd's hut in a meadow nearby
A view of our pretty village, small but with all necessary shops, a bar and an excellent restaurant.
One of the many interesting corners of our village.Lots of charming alleys and twittens
The Saturday night bun fight in the village. Food drink music and dancing, great fun
Our pretty village has a great restaurant.
Lots of interesting street markets
A fair in a nearby village, great fun
Glorious rivers to play on or just look at
Mucking about or just gently floating down river in a canoe.  Magical
A  relaxing trip on a barge, see life from a different perspective. So much history and wildlife
So many beautiful gardens
Fairy castles galore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint Pompon, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Resort665...
1 review
“Immaculate gite in a paradise setting”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed for 11 nights in late September / early October 2016. The gite was absolutely perfect - very cosy, immaculately clean and with plenty of traditional local charm. We loved sitting outside on the terrace listening to the fountain in the fishpond gently bubbling away and watching the birds flit through the vine to visit the feeder. We used it as a base from which to venture out and explore the beautiful countryside by bike (took our own), to walk part of the historic English Way (literally round the corner), and generally soak up the atmosphere of rural France. The gite itself is very well appointed, with a well fitted kitchen and bathroom. We'd definitely recommend it and hope to return again this year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navtrad
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat in a wonderful part of France”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in Maison Des Fleurs for the last 2 weeks in September.

We had driven down from the Midlands in the UK, taking 2 days, so it was a great relief to a) arrive and b) discover that the gite was much better than we had expected.

Soon after arrival David showed us around and and I have to say the gite was extremely clean and tidy, and fitted out with quality and comfortable fittings. David really has made an excellent job of the restoration and refurbishment. Great to be able to get the BBC news on the TV and the Wifi was absolutely fine for our iPad and iPhones even allowing a bit of use on the patio too.

There is also a quite stunning view from the table and chairs in a part of David's garden (see picture). It was completely unexpected and we never tired of just sitting and looking at this amazing panoramic view.

We went out in the car every single day exploring the new (to us) areas and with David's help found a few great places we would likely have missed otherwise. We did not run out of places to go to, just time to do it all in. We were lucky with the weather too. sunshine and blue skies every day except one!

All in all, highly recommended, peaceful, easy going and with lots to see without the need to travel great distances. We would love to go back and stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jefftracy...
Terrigal, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maison des Fleurs was an excellent choice for a week in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great spot just outside the very quaint village of St Pompon. Beautifully appointed gite with lovely gardens. David is a very hospitable host and happy to advise on the local sites. We enjoyed sitting in the gardens enjoying our fresh market purchased treats among the flowers and birds. Vasco, the host's friendly and well mannered German Shepherd, would often visit for a pat. We thoroughly recommend the village restaurant and the bar. The walk to the village is reasonably challenging. We had plenty of walking at the sites we visited so chose to take the car when visiting the village. Thanks David.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully appointed quiet and pretty spot
Liked least: Narrow winding road/lane to the village might challenge inexperienced or older drivers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz m
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic,peaceful location with firstclass accomodation and hospitality!”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traditional gite with all the modern facilities you could wish for in a truly peaceful setting, surrounded by stunning countryside and wildlife right on your doorstep. Host David added tremendously to our stay.... with his input on what and where we might enjoy , his in-depth knowledge,his attentiveness(without being intrusive!) and genuine friendship. Car essential so you can explore the beautiful Dordogne area with its gardens, chateaux, river activities ,markets, bastide towns and miles of tourist free countryside with quiet roads at this time of year. Fifteen minutes walk down to Saint Pompon, a typical French working village(slightly longer on way back up steep hill!) Delightful restaurant in village, not open every evening, booking advised. Also bar, butcher, baker and small supermarket. Excellent week with glorious weather and many happy memories. A definite bolthole to return to .Many,many thanks to David and Vasco.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slowtrave...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Off-season is perfect here”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

May at Maison des Fleurs—the color in the gardens on the property is amazing. The weather is perfect, with crisp cool mornings and warm sunny afternoons. What a perfect base for wandering this beautiful countryside and visiting caves and castles. The food markets are marvelous. May is strawberry month in Dordogne. How I’d love to go back in the fall, when the walnuts and other crops come to those markets. David has done a gorgeous restoration of this charming group of buildings with his own imagination and his own hands. Our stay was a pleasure in every way.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing