We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Castle by the Sea(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Haven Resort Inn(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Escape Inn(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Strawberry by the Sea(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Florida Resort(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$78
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Courtyard(Lauderdale by the Sea)
US$179
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Key Inn(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seacrest(Lauderdale by the Sea)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
166
91
46
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
91
46
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresort feemain buildingvalet serviceisland buildingpool baracross the streetvalet guysbungalow roomtacosfull length mirrorthree buildingsprivate poolguest roomsdunkin donutshotel is in a great locationjunior suitestayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

After initially booking an Island build 2 queen room, we upgrade to a bungalow jr suite a few weeks before our arrival. The kitchenette was an appealing upgrade to lower food costs during the trip. Unfortunately, once we arrived to check-in, we were informed that we were again "upgraded" to the beach building, which means we lost the kitchenette we had planned on using. But to the "manager on duty" that day, it was still an upgrade from our original reservation, so we would still have to pay an upgrade fee. At this point, we just wanted to get into our room, so we completed registration. Luckily, we went back the next morning and the staff, including a different manager, the customer service was much better and our issues were quickly resolved. As far as the rest of the stays, the location is really nice, with a publix and CVS across the street and a main touristy area a short walk (1/2 mile) down the road. The beach was fun and pool was the right sized for the resort. The food on the beach side of the resort was really good and much better selection than the main building with the majority of bartenders being great. Not sure if some of the bartenders were having a bad day, but a few were a bit standoffish and seemed irritated that we wanted drinks. The island build could use some work, the foosball game is pretty much broken and there isn't much else to do. While the lack of customer service in some cases, could have derailed our vacation, the positive attitude of others provided an overall great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonMplwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Front Office Manager at Plunge Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

JonMplwd,

Thank you for staying at Plunge Beach Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear that your arrival experience was not excellent due to some confusion with your upgrade and you wants and needs! We are glad to hear that we were able to make everything right and ensured the remainder of your stay was amazing!

We hope you will be our guest again soon!

At your service,

Michael Trainor
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

we arrived prior to 4 pm check in 3/29/18 and we're delighted to hear our room was ready and waiting However it will cost us an extra $50! We reluctantly paid it but i thought this was price gouging ! The room was nice but when i tried to plug in my phone behind night stand the legs fell off and crashed to the ground ! We pay the resort fee but the pool ladies told me I had to drag my own lounge chairs back in from the beach even though i tipped her well bringing them to the beach ! The highlight of our stay was the great service and yummy food at the pool bar

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bluesmom102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Front Office Manager at Plunge Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Bluesmom102,

Thank you for staying at Plunge Beach Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious food and that our staff provided excellent service!

I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced in your room and namely the service you were provided at the beach. This is unacceptable and I promise you that this is not the normal level of service our beach & pool provide.

I hope we have the chance to see you again soon!

At your service,

Michael Trainor
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The management of this hotel have figured out how to create an offering that meets most needs without breaking the bank. That said, if you’re looking for a luxury resort, go somewhere else and be prepared to pay double.

Located right on the ocean, the business model offers basic accommodations in a well maintained, clean facility. What it lacks in amenities it makes up for in the fun and funky atmosphere. The staff is mostly young and engaging. All in all it’s a great bargain(we managed to negotiate a weekly package that averaged less than $200 a night).

Quibbles: a too soft mattress, towels not quite as plush as I would like.

Complaints: we were upsold on the semiprivate garden room with a terrace. But there was no furniture on the terrace. So much for coffee outside in the morning.

Which brings me to my biggest complaint. No coffee in the rooms. Only option is the in house breakfast and lunch place for $3 a cup. So we bought a cheapo coffee pot at Target $14 and a pound of Starbucks coffee also $14. At 2 cups a day for 2 people it pays for itself under 3 days. We’ll leave it behind as it won’t go in our luggage. Ask for Room 155 if you want to take advantage:)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Front Office Manager at Plunge Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

John,

Thank you for staying at Plunge Beach Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We appreciate your feedback on your stay and we are so delighted to hear that overall you found our resort convenient and comfortable! Your suggestions and inside view of your stay will continue to help us improve for the future!

We hope you will be our guest again soon and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

At your service,

Michael Trainor
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The Plunge is in a great spot right on the beach and about a half mile walk to many bars/restaurants. Our first issue with this hotel is that when booking it we were deceived into thinking the entire hotel was right on the water which is not the case. There are actually two separate buildings, one which is across the street from the actual beach. We had called ahead of time and found out about this and asked to be in the building on the beach side which they did for us but it cost us an extra $20/night.

Our room was fine except there was a loose tile on the bathroom floor that they simple placed in it's spot instead of actually fixing it and kept coming up during our stay. We also had an issue with our comforter being stained the first night when we went to bed. A security guard came up and exchanged the comforter for a clean one but when we went to the front desk the next day they had no record of the incident. They told us they would investigate but we still hadn't heard anything when we checked out several days later. When we checked out we were told the manager would call us but a week later we still hadn't heard anything and had to call back ourselves in order to get the issue addressed.

The other major issue with the Plunge is that you have to get to the beach by 9:30 am if you want to get a chair and an umbrella which seems a little ridiculous when you're paying a resort fee for those services. The staff at the beach were all very nice and tried to get you chairs/umbrellas as soon as they became available but the hotel should have enough chairs and umbrellas for all their guests. Overall we had a good experience. All of the staff members that we interacted with were very kind and helpful. Pool is very nice and the hotel is in a great location, but there are definitely some improvements that can be made.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sajohnson18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Front Office Manager at Plunge Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Good Day,

First and foremost I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay and that you did not receive an immediate follow up from our team. The feedback that you presented is very important to ensure that we can improve for the future.

I know you will be pleased to learn that we have just ordered 100 new chairs which will be arriving in the coming weeks!

Again I am sorry for the issues you experienced and I hope we have the chance to win back your business soon!

At your service,

Michael Trainor
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days. Staff were all friendly and nice. Cool vibe & decor! Room was clean, beds were comfortable. Great location right on the beach and short walk to Lauderdale-by-the-Sea restaurant & shops. Strip mall with a great breakfast place across the street. Lobby of hotel has a good breakfast spot and bar area. Tiki Bar by pool & beach was fun too! I would definitely stay again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Front Office Manager at Plunge Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Michele T,

Thank you for staying at Plunge Beach Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We are overjoyed to hear that you had an amazing stay with us due to our location, unique decor, and clean and comfortable rooms!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

At your service,

Michael Trainor
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews