We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Spirit Snorkeling

Spirit Snorkeling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit Snorkeling of Marathon – providing daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef & Pirate’s Cove. Specializing in families and first time snorkelers, our friendly crew will take you on a fun filled adventure to the either the Sombrero Reef Marine Sanctuary and Lighthouse or to our special location on the Florida Bay—Pirate’s Cove. Sombrero Reef is the third largest barrier reef in the world and this beautiful 30 acre coral reef ranges from 2–30 feet deep with thousands of tropical fish. The Sombrero Lighthouse was built before the Civil War and today still helps mariners navigate the Keys with its light. Coral Reefs are among the most biologically diverse ecosystems on earth. They are second only to the tropical rain forests in the number of species they harbor, and indeed are sometimes called “The Rain Forests of the Sea”. You haven’t really seen the Keys until you’ve seen our under water areas. If the weather is too rough to go out to Sombrero Reef our dedicated crew will take you over to Pirate’s Cove, where the water is generally much calmer. Here you will see many species of tropical fish, under water plant life, lobsters and even sea horses. The water is quite shallow, making it a perfect spot to snorkel. Even sightseers enjoy our trips as many species can be seen from the boat. We take no scuba divers, we only go to shallow water snorkeling locations and Back Water Eco tours.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Captain Roger and Jen were amazing! The Sombrero reef was beautiful and we had a great experience. This a definite must do!

Thank Nathalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

So glad you had a great experience snorkeling aboard the "Spirit". Come back and snorkel with us next time your in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"captain ray"
in 125 reviews
"sombrero reef"
in 415 reviews
"snorkeling trip"
in 147 reviews
"dive master"
in 104 reviews
"fish"
in 359 reviews
"pirate's cove"
in 15 reviews
"great trip"
in 97 reviews
"captain pips"
in 17 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 20 reviews
"beautiful reef"
in 32 reviews
"boat ride"
in 48 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 17 reviews
"great snorkeling"
in 17 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 15 reviews
"morning trip"
in 15 reviews
"nice boat"
in 16 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 23 reviews
Filter

129 - 133 of 1 749 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Jenna and Roger were awesome. It was such a nice day and the reef wasn’t packed. Very thorough and professional.

1  Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for the five stars, we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

If you’re anything like me, even though something has a good rating on Trip Advisor, I’ll still check out the 1&2 star ratings. Reading the negative comments offered by other reviewers definitely made me nervous about this experience, but as you can see, we had an excellent trip with Roger and Angie.

One personal note, and it is no reflection on this charter group, those with queasy stomachs beware. The site we visited was beautiful, and we saw so many unique creatures. I don’t know what the usual wave height is, but by the end of the trip there were a large number of us clutching their tummies.

Again, no reflection on the company! They were kind and courteous in response to our weak stomachs. Just come prepared if you’re prone to motion sickness.

1  Thank melissasell100376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thanks for the five star review. You are right sometimes the waves kick up. It is best to be safe then sorry and take bonine before you go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

My significant other and I spent the best $40/each on a trip that turned out to be a pleasant surprise. We had great visibility and saw tons of brilliant fish of all types and sizes. The captain and the first mate were very hospitable and engaging as well. This all made for a great time. Well worth the time and money.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank gregorygodec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Sounds you had an awesome day aboard the "Spirit."
We appreciate your business, come back and see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We went to Sombrero reef for the snorkeling which was brilliant, there were lots of colourful fish to see. The current was a bit strong and I found it difficult to get anywhere at some points, and i'm a competent swimmer so this might not be suitable for you if you aren't a strong swimmer. That said, you can just float and you'll still see plenty of things! The captain and mate were great, you can tell that safety is their main priority and that they really care about making sure you get back safely. Obviously the sea can be very unpredictable (the currents got a lot stronger towards the end of our session in the space of about 15 minutes) so keep this in mind and treat it with respect.

The only negative thing I can think of is that the group was quite big - probably about 30 if I had to guess? The captain said they were almost at capacity. However, we did go on a weekend so expected it to be busier than during the week. Nevertheless, it would have been a bit better if the group was smaller as it got quite crowded in the sea! So if you're looking for something with smaller groups you'd probably have to pay a bit more and go with a different operator.

Overall though we had a great time and the staff were fantastic.

2  Thank AmieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainPips, Manager at Spirit Snorkeling, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for your review and the four stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit Snorkeling also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Snorkeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing