We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coconut Grouper”

Alonzo's Oyster Bar
Ranked #143 of 480 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Alonzo's Oyster Bar is the place to be if you are looking for an outstanding casual meal whether it be lunch or dinner along with the very best Happy Hour on the island... 4-6:30pm everyday! Our Chefs have mastered the art of pure dining pleasure no matter what you choose from the varied menu. Alonzo's Oyster Bar, as you would guess also offers the largest oyster selection of any restaurant in the Florida Keys delivered live, fresh daily! Dining options include our outdoor patio with view of A&B Marina or indoor AC for those steamy Key West days. First come first serve basis, reservations are never needed just walk in and enjoy!
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We dine here every visit to Key West. It is located right on the dock with indoor and outdoor seating. I love the coconut encrusted grouper served over a corn and potato cake. So good!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank LELrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 2 245 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Seafood is ok had fried clams they were soggy and didn’t taste well done. We also
Ordered an assortment of other dishes that were just medicore. will give this place 3 stars staff was friendly but slow.....

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank johnson127mph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We were going to have dinner but it's really pricey and not so yummy. We got there early and they had happy hour snack food specials which we enjoyed as well as the cocktails. I had several orders of the 6 oysters but they were small but at least fresh. My wife had some shrimp which seem to be store bought and not fresh.

Anyway not to beat them up it wasn't that bad but there has to be a better seafood restaurant in KW.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 898jimmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Seated outside next to the cigar maker who was very loud and was a huge distraction to a beautiful view and dinner.
Chose the oysters and my husband chose the snapper New Orleans. Oysters were small and just ok, plate filler was French fries and a half corn on the cob. Honestly the fries were the best.
Snapper presentation was awesome but disguised the puny piece of fish that was surrounded by a mountain of mashed potato, a potato cake and fried onions with a moat of green beans and carrots. Fish was tasty but not a $24 meal.
In and out in 60 minutes. Opted for no birthday dessert because I had no faith in the possibility of it being worth it. Disappointed

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank janegO7100OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

My granddaughter made this selection and she was on the mark cause it was really good. We were 30 minutes before happy hour so we had an appetizer with our drinks. When we finally decided what we wanted it was happy hour and some of it was on the menu for happy hour. King crab legs and peel & eat shrimp to share and off we went. Both were delish and I would recommend anyone to eat here.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank casinogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alonzo's Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Alonzo's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing