We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old Wood House / Four Stars”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SuperSamu...
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old Wood House / Four Stars”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my first time that I have ever rented a vacation rental – ever. So, this is review is more or less written to compare this experience against hotels in Key West.

I’d to start with the fact, that if you want to have super luxury in Key West, only option is to build your own house. You simply don’t find true five star hotels here – but Villa Déjà Vu was not bad choice at all! Although this rental must be in a continuous use, it easily beats most of much more expensive hotels we have stayed in Key West. House itself is quite old wooden house, but I did not find any device or furniture to be broken.

This rental is located on Amelie Street, that does not offer parking. Parking on other streets costs USD 2 per hour and max. you can have is USD 20, typically this covers overnight parking until afternoon. I had no trouble finding parking on Duval Street, which is only few hundred feet away. Amelie Street is very close to all gay action in Key West.
Entrance of Villa Deja Vu is very low profile, but behind its door, you will find quite nice, quiet, clean and well equipped, two story home that works the best for two separate max. four person families. Layout is somewhat ackward and doors are not super noise proof. Interior décor is nice, colorful and “island-like”. Only three bedrooms are private enough for couples, rest two are somewhat connected to other bedrooms with little privacy – more suitable for small kids. Upstairs department with two bedrooms had a very minor mold odor. Wi-fi did not work.

Kitchen and living room were both large and well equipped, and were located right next to the pool area, which included nice (heated) pool and BBQ-grill. Lots of small and big tables and chairs around home. Nice big dining table for max. 6-8 people. Good central A/C plus two extra add-on units in two bedrooms.

Would I come again? Yes maybe, but I will recommend this to max. three couples because of privacy issue regarding bedrooms – otherwise great property.

My cheap tips to the owner: Fix the wifi, put few extra bottles of cold water and/or beer for new guests and buy some cheap toys for families with kids.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domo0808
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, awkward layout, high price”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Pros:
Location
Yard/Pool
Decor

Cons:
upstairs bedroom configuration
louver doors
main floor bathroom in middle of kitchen

The location of the house was great. And the yard and private pool were excellent. The decor was nice - shabby chic beach style. The living area opens up to the pool deck so great indoor/outdoor living space.

For the price, I expected the beds to be more high-end. The beds were hand made platform beds - very low and with hard, thin, cheap mattresses. Cheap pillows, too.

The downstairs bedrooms had closets, but no dressers to put anything in. Had to live out of bags, since there was no place to put shorts, t-shirts, etc. Would be helpful to have a dresser in the closets to at least have some drawers for storage.

All bathrooms were small shower stalls - no bathtubs. I placed a call to the maintenance line to tell them that the shower liners were too short and water was getting on the floor when running the shower.

It wasn't obvious to me from the description on the rental company's website that the 3rd and 4th bedrooms were in the same room. You have to walk through the 3rd bedroom to get to the 4th bedroom. And there is only a half-wall separating them. If I had known this, I would not have rented this house. This layout would work for parents/children, but not for adults travelling together. No privacy.

The main floor bathroom has louver doors and is in the middle of the kitchen - literally.

All of the rooms, including bathrooms, had louver doors - not great for privacy.

Kitchen was fine, except there was no colander/strainer.

For almost $900 per night, I expected better quality bedding and nicer bathrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, yard/pool, decor
Liked least: layout of the 3rd and 4th bedrooms, lack of privacy,
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa D
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

What a fabulous place to stay on our birthday get a way! As beautiful as the pictures on the website were they still did not do the home justice! As soon as we walked in the door we felt at home. The Key West decor has such a happy vibe! The pool and outside patio were perfect. The location was awesome. We walked everywhere.
The house was immaculate and the kitchen was very well appointed. We were sad when it was time to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Key West decor and the pool
Liked least: No martini shaker ( the only thing missing )
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfectly Private in Key West”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Key West and a much anticipated visit with my daughter and her boyfriend. We were also very fortunate to have stayed at a wonderful rental called Villa Deja Vu. From the minute we walked into Villa Deja Vu it was like entering a sweet, happy and quiet place. Every inch of the resident was beautifully decorated in perfect Key West fashion and the most obvious thing we noticed is that it was as clean as a whistle! The back deck and pool was glorious and such a nice retrieve from the hustle bustle which is offered just around the corner on Duval Street. Most would say ....... "location, location, location!!" Because the downtown area of Key West is mostly a "walking city," everything is easily accessible. The folks at Vacation Homes of Key West can answer most any question you have about the area and offer splendid suggestions on things to do. Make sure you make it to the Fort Zachary Taylor State Park! Wow.........the snorkeling is great! Enjoy your stay at Villa Deja Vu. I promise, you wont leave there disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the fact that it was so clean.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing