We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southernmost Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$369
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$347
US$338
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden House(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$253
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$416
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6 177)
Filter reviews
6 177 results
Traveller rating
4 346
1 202
383
150
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4 346
1 202
383
150
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdewey housela mertranquility pooltanning piershores barwest lawnbeer schoolactivities directorsand barpartial ocean viewduval streetocean frontoceanfront roomquiet end of duvalprivate beachquicheour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2 783 - 2 788 of 6 177 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at the room. It was very spacious, the bathroom was amazing and it was well decorated. The pool was nice and not overly crowded, we found beach chairs everyday with out a problem. Parking was okay, sometimes it was difficult to find a parking space. The pool bar waiters were extremely nice, they brought drinks out to you at the pool and the free frozen kool pops (Popsicles). came in handy on those extremely hot days. The pool has a ball and floaters. The beach area was horrible, there isn't a nicer way to describe it. This time of year seaweed wash a shore. Not only was it a horrible sight but
the smell was even worse, needless to say no one entered the beach area. It's not the hotel's fault with the sea weed, it's all Mother Nature. The hotel did try to clean it up without success. I would stay here again without question.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Kisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Dear Kisha,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southernmost Beach Resort Key West. I am delighted we were able to exceed your expectations that you enjoyed what sounds like a much needed relaxing vacation. During these hot summer days those frozen "kool" pops are much needed and I am happy that you were able to experience our exceptional customer service throughout your stay, especially by the pools! I want to thank you for your understanding about the current seaweed situation at the public beach and for acknowledging our efforts to maintain the beach. This time of year it can be very challenging, but we still apologize the conditions were not more idyllic during your stay. I hope you will be able to visit the us again when the water is clear and blue so your next stay can be more exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. #somolife #keywest #staysouthernmost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Took my teenage daughter and her friend to Key West to kick off their summer and my husband and I need a much needed weekend to decompress from work, sports and activities. This was the perfect property and location for what we had in mind. It is on the quiet end of Duval Street with its own beach and numerous pools. Most of the pools in Key West were small so if you planned on spending the day relaxing at one you will need to get up early to get a chair. At the Southernmost on the Beach if you miss the pool/chair there is Beach within steps from the pool. The walk to the hopping end of Duval is a little bit of a walk, probably 20+ minutes, not bad but if it is hot out then it can get uncomfortable. We loved it and there are lots of shops to poke in while you walk, but you are definitely at the complete other end of the action. This is exactly what we wanted, peace and quiet. The teens laid in the hammocks at the end of the evening reading or watching movies ( Free Wifi). The Hubby and I would sit on the pier and just enjoy the breeze or the quiet. Staff was very helpful, rooms were clean and large. Highly recommend this property if you are looking to relax, but you can still find late night entertainment if you want to walk. We also looked at the Hyatt before deciding on the Southernmost on the Beach so we did take a walk over there to compare, again a beautiful property but extremely small what they call beach maybe 15 chairs (elbow to elbow) and not real beach. The pool was nice, but very small and if you planned on spending the day at it you would definitely need to get there early. It is near the excitement of Duval Street, but not too busy, a nice location if you don’t want quiet and ability to relax during the day. Close to where all the boats or Yachts dock so a nice view.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Dear Dawn M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southernmost Beach Resort Key West. I’m very happy you and your entire family had such a nice time with us and enjoyed a tranquil long weekend! Your stay with us sounds like it was exactly what you were looking for and I couldn’t be more pleased. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and it’s gratifying to know our amenities, location and rooms did not disappoint. Thank you again for writing your review and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you all back for another stay. #somolife #keywest #staysouthernmost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

The standard king room is very nice. We liked the size of the bathroom, and the bed was comfortable. The room was clean. We liked being able to park right outside of the door to our room. The location is wonderful, it is within walking distance to so many attractions. We rented bikes at the concierge's desk for the trip to Mallory Square and Fort Zachary Taylor but for 3 days of our trip we simply walked from the room up Duval street and had a great time. Pool bar is very nice and the drinks are good. Felt like it was a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Dear James G,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southernmost Beach Resort Key West. I’m very happy to learn that you had such a great time with us and loved your stay. Exploring Key West on bicycles is one of the best ways to see our lovely town. The best part of our resort and having a selection of room types, is that there is a perfect fit for every guest. I am glad you found yours! I hope you will visit us again and provide us with the opportunity to host you for another great stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and share your experience. #somolife #keywest #staysouthernmost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

I can't say enough nice things about this Resort. The grounds are impeccable, the rooms are spacious, very clean, the activities are entertaining, the food was always fresh & delicious. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate . A true luxury resort. While some reviews claim the prices keep going up and the cost is high, things have to be put in perspective. There are different classes of accommodation and with it comes with a price . If something is not within your budget, then you should chose a different resort. There are no hidden cost.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Kerbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Dear Kerbecs,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southernmost Beach Resort Key West. Your very thoughtful and detailed comments are greatly appreciated as we move forward. While there have been many changes to our property our number one priority remains the same; to make sure all of our guests have the best possible experience we can provide. Our commitment to provide exceptional customer service is a constant work in progress as we strive to not only provide what our guests expect but anticipate what they desire in a vacation/getaway. I will be sure to share your lovely commendation with our entire team; they will be gratified to know that their hard work and commitment to excellence made your visit with us a wonderful experience. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward welcoming you back in the future. #somolife #keywest #staysouthernmost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

This is part of a two-block hotel "collection" that all share the same common amenities. A quiet family friendly pool, a very quiet adult-only pool, and a party with live music pool. A private beach (more of a sandy deck) and free chairs on a public beach right in front of the hotel. All but the adult-only pool have bars with a great selection of drinks. A bunch of games (like Foosball), planned activities (like wine and beer tasting, and trivia night). I think there was even bikes to borrow. There is probably a whole bunch more that I didn't even find.

Let's add that it is right next to two very high-end hotels, with virtually the same location so, in comparison, this is a steal.

While the room we were in was just a standard (clean and quiet) hotel room, there was certainly some exceptional rooms that were just a tier or two up from us. With all the stuff going on at the hotel and all the stuff to do in Key West (some, like Louie's Backyard, are just steps away), we didn't do anything in the room but sleep (and it was quiet). This hotel is on the South end of the island. If you are wanting to stay near the fuss and noise of the North end (by the cruise ships), this is not for you. If you want to walk to a beach park and play a nice game of Frisbee or volleyball, you are in the right location.

With the perfect location, the huge diversity of rooms and included experiences, this is the perfect experience for any group. Let's just say, if Disney wanted a hotel on Key West, this would be the collection they would buy.

Room Tip: The price may seem high, but price comparable rooms from any property with beachfront property on Key West. You'll see this is the best deal. With that, the tiers are clear. We were overlooking a parking lot that had a nicely decorated pool in it. If you want a better view, a private balcony, or an ocean view, please choose that tier. We wanted a room to sleep in and a resort that was full of fun experiences. That is what we got.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Dear JRTrave,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southernmost Beach Resort Key West. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and appreciate the thought that you put into writing your detailed experience while staying at our inclusive resort. I am extremely pleased that you had what sounds like an amazing stay with us and a wonderful time exploring Key West. To be compared to Disney World is a huge compliment! While there have been many changes to our property our number one priority remains the same; to make sure all of our guests have the best possible experience we can provide. Our commitment to provide exceptional customer service is a constant work in progress as we strive to not only provide what our guests expect but anticipate what they desire in a vacation/getaway. I will be sure to share your lovely commendation with our entire team; they will be gratified to know that their hard work and commitment to excellence made your visit with us a wonderful experience. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward welcoming you back in the future. #somolife #keywest #staysouthernmost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews