We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location/ poor beds”

Review of The Hemingway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Roaches and horrible maintenance”
Reviewed 10 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Good location -- poorly maintained and appointed home.

They keep the roach traps on the kitchen counter!!

This home reminded us of our house in England built in the 1800s.

The young lady from at home in Key West rental agency was great. I would go there again, but avoid staying at the Hemingway.

The beds and pillows are extremely uncomfortable. The pull out bed is completely shot. Not even enough support for little kids. The springs were popping out of the mattress. You can not sleep 6 comfortably.

The hot water tank is very small and the hot water runs out quickly.

The kitchen needs serious help. Most of the counter tops are badly cracked. You would be lucky to make two place settings. Most of the china is broken and can not be safely used with children. The stove was broken, the microwave is melted, and if you like/plan to cook their equipment is thin and extremely worn out.

Watch out for the refrigerator. it will freeze and ruin your food!!

The bathrooms are a mess. Moldy shower curtains and standing water. They are tiny tiny tiny rooms. The bath towels were badly soiled. Most of them were torn or had large holes in them.

There is no internet and the TV is broken.

The pools closed early every night. They advertise 11, but it's more like 8.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything else
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2010
When you called our office for a last-minute reservation after our office had closed, Jennie stayed after hours to find a home for your group of 5; we appreciate you recognizing her efforts to accommodate you.

It is unfortunate that you did not contact us during your 7-night stay as many of the issues you comment on could have been fixed. Our company strives to provide our guests with exceptional guest service and respond to concerns right away. This home is reserved often and guests enjoy its convenient location and ability to accommodate 6 people.

We certainly look forward to working with you again to find a home that exceeds your expectations. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location/ poor beds”
Reviewed 17 March 2010 for a stay in March 2010

We loved the location of the Hemingway. We wished there had been chairs on
the front porch and balconies. Since we did a lot of cooking, we needed a few
more items like broiler pan and cookie sheets. The beds were hard and the
pillows were uncomfortable. The weather was wonderful so we enjoyed our
trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Needs some attention!”
Reviewed 12 November 2009 for a stay in October 2009

The upstairs front bedroom shower, leaks heavily into the dining room below. The water pours out through the "trak light" fixture. Big leak, obviously has been patched before. Corian style kitchen counter is badly broken, effecting more than 40% of the countertop. Cleaning crew should be fired. Filthy floors, dirty bathrooms, disgusting old sticky stuff under the microwave oven, and mud/dirt covered porches.

It's time for the owner to put some of the rental income, back into the property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great home, great service!”
Reviewed 1 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009

Thanks again for the way you managed the rental of
the Hemingway Home in the Truman Annex. When we
arrived, the keys did not work and your staff went
to meet us at the home with the right keys even
though it was Sunday.

The house was in tip top shape and everything went
smoothly and without a hitch. I'm definitely
renting with you again soon!

Best regards,

Frank Linero

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Proximity to Old Town
Liked least: No bathroom downstairs
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Do you like bed bugs?”
Reviewed 19 August 2009 for a stay in August 2009
1
person found this review helpful

During our stay we were in a unit in the Truman Annex. This is an area near Duval St with the normal amenities. Our unit had not been maintained very well. The refrigerator was old and did not work well. The dishes were old chipped and cracked and mismatched, the pots and pans were very old, the silverware was new. The kitchen counter was cracked in several places. The toilet leaked in the front bedroom and the door to the balcony was frozen. Most of us were bitten by bugs in the bed and had to visit the urgent care for medicine and dermatologist upon our return home, we are getting better. The pool area was nice and the neighbors pleasant. Duval Street is always fun along with the other Key West activities. I am sure there are units that meet most people expectations but ours was not one of them.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing