We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab time”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Haines City, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scousesna...
scousesnail
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab time”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Seven of our extended family, all adults stayed here in March 2016 and had an absolute ball. The Villa is spacious and well appointed and we made full use of the pool and Jacuzzi. We had a couple of problems with the newly installed aircon in a couple of bedrooms while we were there but the Owners, agent and aircon guy were very fast to respond and try and sort the issue which was much appreciated. Plenty of helpful tips are left around the Villa which came in handy on numerous occasions, we even left a few of our own for future guests. The Villa was very easy to find and was a couple of hundred yards off the main highway 27 in a gated community, the drive from the main Orlando attractions was about 30 minutes but felt a lot less due to the 27 being only a couple of minutes away. Haines City is 5 minutes drive away with a large Walmart and lots of eateries of which "Manny's original chop house" is one not to miss. All in all we had a fabulous time and would love to return again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like home fro home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
firstly thank you for sharing here your experience of the villa plus taking time to share hints and tips with future guests at the villa
I really do hope you return with your family very soon to the villa
John
Villa Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here for eleven nights. Fabulous from start to finish! Julie answered every question before we left home with great honesty and knowledge which ensured we got off to a great start with car hire etc.. Found villa with ease. Villa had everything we needed for a very special and memorable family holiday in Orlando. Plenty of towels, bedding etc for changes. Easy to use washing machine, dryer etc. Great pantry containing bits to start you off - tea bags, coffee etc.. Supermarkets and restaurants very nearby. Easy travel to Disney parks. Also travelled to Cape Canaveral within an hour to see rocket launch! Swimming pool enjoyed by all!! We used coal BBQ. It was easy to use and easy to clean. Definitely not an issue. Thanks for letting us use your holiday home, Julie and John. Hope we can return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Good Afternoon Anne C. I want to thank you for leaving a review of the villa.
t was nice o know the villa had all your family needed to enjoy your stay.
You are the first family to have used the coal bbq as most opt to hire one in so congratulations on that.
I really do hope you will make the villa your place to stay if you ever return to the villa in future years.
Lovely to have played such an important part in your holiday
Thank you for choosing Little Mermaid Villa
Regards
John
Villa owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janey j
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Villa We Will Return to Without Hesitiation..The Holiday of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We as a family, plus extended family had been trawling through so many villas looking for the one which would meet all our requirements when we came across The Little Mermaid Villa owned by John.
We did as many others do. We red the reviews and based upon these we contacted the owner.
He was actually in work when we emailed him but he replied within the hour explaining that he was working but would email me as soon as he was home..which he did that evening.
He gave me extensive information as to what the villa offered guests plus when I booked the villa he forwarded information he thought would be of use to us such as how he booked his car hire flights park tickets etc. He did not promote any company at all just told me in plain simple English how to avoid pitfalls and to get the best from the planned visit.
So we booked and looked forward to our stay and to be honest when we were unsure about anything I emailed him and he gave a sensible honest reply which was so useful for us as first time visitors to Florida.
We arrived at the villa and even though we had been delayed in UK and tired the excitement took over. We were given a pass by the bloke at the community gates which we had to keep on show in the car and made our way to villa passing many villas trying to guess which one was ours.
On arrival at the villa I was unsure what was behind the door as I was the one who had made the executive decision to book this place. My worries vanished as we pulled up then opened the door.!!
This villa is beautiful with a large living room, kitchen/morning room and the living room leads to the pool area which at 6pm was bathed in a warm sunlight and we all gasped..then the three kids jumped in the pool.fully clothed and laughing!
The four bedrooms lead off the main living area and these are beautifully fitted out with walk in wardrobes, lovely comfy beds and bedding is crisp and so clean.
The journey to the parks was so easy and straight forward. We had friends staying on the 192 and they were closer tot he parks but spent longer travelling there due to traffic lights all the way plus rush hour traffic from early morning to 11 am then same in the evening..so we were 17 minutes from Disney in our car while they were closer but always arrived fifteen minutes after us even though they left their villa the same time.
This pool area to villa is spotless and they have in place a proper fence/guard the length of the pool which we used when not in pool with having a four year old with us...which we feel is a must all people reading this review need to keep in mind when booking a place to stay.
We hired a bbq while there from the guy John had told us about it cost us $65.00 for a bbq for the whole stay plus a full gas bottle..which to buy alone in Walmart would have been over $50!!! So well worth looking at plus we did not have to clean the bbq when we were leaving just left it to side of pool area outside the pool cage and he was picking it up after we left.
There is a bbq at villa but when we thought about it..it is so much easier to hire one and have it all delivered ready to use and again no cleaning..but it was there if we wanted to use it but as we were on holiday we did not want to spend an hour a day cleaning it before using it..this was one of the things we picked up in review left and I would say to anyone booking the villa and wanting a bbq to hire one Florida is for enjoying..not stood cleaning grills!
My father and Husband took the younger ones to the lake at the community to fish and they had a ball. John has left fishing gear for use and we used bread then went onto worms from the Walmart.
They loved that as much as the parks.
Eating out or in there are too many places to choose from but we used the book left by John where guests recorded places to eat or avoid. This came in handy.
Although we went out quite a bit of a day we had downtime days where we all relaxed and sun bathed. The villa is not overlooked at the back at all and very private. One previous guest mentioned the road at the back. In the days we spent in the villa and many evening the road was not a problem at all and when I brought up that comment when we were all sat there one evening my father commented he did not even notice the road. and he has hearing and eyes like a hawk...so please take it from me the position of this villa is marvellous private and NOT OVERLOOKED what so ever by anything or anyone.
Would we recommend the villa to people? YES
Did we find booking easy direct with the owner ? YES
Did we get replies quickly to emails [even the trivial ones] ? YES
Did we all enjoy our stay? YES
Will we return again? YES
Would we recommend you enquire about this villa? DEFINATELY YES!
Can we just say this was a holiday we wanted to go on and enjoy as a family and bring back wonderful memories of our stay and this villa plus the owner helped tick all the boxes for us
Thank you for all you assistance and sorry if we asked too many questions..you have the patience of a Saint!
We are now planning another visit in 2017 and cannot wait

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The "feeling of happiness" as we entered the villa knowing I had made the right decision to book
Liked least: Leaving the villa to come home. Dropping the keys into the keysafe was so depressing we wanted to stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with others your stay. So pleased you had a wonderful time and took time out to review the villa.
So pleased that I was instrumental in making your holiday one you will remember for a long time to come.
John (villa owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manz42
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in this villa and there is no busy road by it, can not believe previous review about road. There is a road by the side you can hear the odd car but I promise you it's not busy at all very quiet. I can not wait to go back, julie and John are the most pleasant amenable people I have ever done business with, the villa had everything we could ask for, the pantry is full of things that is available for you to use that previous guests have left like tea bags coffe. It's immaculate and homely any problems and it's sorted as soon as. The pool is lovely and relaxing no noise or disturbance can not wait to return. I suppose you can not please everyone but I can honestly say it is wonderful and the fact the owners are soo pleasant is everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
Can I just thank you for your lovely comments, I do put so much into making guests stay a pleasurable one,,,hence many returning again and again, I hope you will return again on your next visit to Orlando thank you again for a wonderful review john villa owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
236SueH
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to explore from.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Little Mermaid Villa for two reasons.
The first was that we had stayed on this gated community previously and for us it was great - supermarkets, restaurants etc all close by. It has easy access to all the parks without being on top of everything as we find it's nice to relax sometimes!!
The second reason being that it had a certificate of excellence. I'm sorry to say but we didn't think that this was quite right. The villa itself was a great size and not overlooked, which we really liked. The only thing that spoiled that was it's close proximity to quite a busy road that is used day and night. The pool was great and got the sun all day but we found that the road noise was a bit of a pain. Inside the villa had everything but quite a lot of things seemed to be quite old. The selection of pans was great but the utensils were not nice. The airer for the clothes was terrible and other guests had passed the same comment - I had to dry clothes hung up in a spare wardrobe. We were surprised to find that the BBQ was a charcoal one with a note saying that if it wasn't cleaned properly we would have to pay $90. In the other rentals that we have stayed in (not just in the US) a gas BBQ has been included, which we cleaned without being warned about having to pay a fine if not done properly. We went out and bought a small gas one - $25 from Lowe's. We also bought a fan for our daughters bedroom as there were only fans in the lounge and main bedroom.
Julie, the owner was great, and I'm sorry that I can't give a better review, but we just found the villa lacking a little compared to other rentals that we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gated community that it is situated on.
Liked least: The road noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
I have to say am a little surprised at your review after receiving such wonderful emails from you saying how much you enjoyed the villa. The issue appears to centre round the charcoal bbq. BBQ's are the Bain of cleaners lives as people do leave them in a terrible state and can take so long to clean for next guest. This charge is not implemented by myself but the management company hence my supplying info of a bbq guy who will deliver a clean BBQ's with gas and pick up...dirty on your departure for just seventy dollars! The road am sorry you thought this noisy but in the seven years of having the villa no other guest has ever reported a problem. Your stay at the villa you said was a lovely one (in your emails) sadly the cleaning of the villa b b q is something the management company have implemented not myself. It is so cheap to eat out in surrounding places that the b b q has only ever been used a handful of times, The noise from the road,,,the villa is not close to the road and in seven years of ownership no guests has ever said the road was busy, ..thank you again for your feedback which I have answered to the best of my ability here..John (villa owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;