We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - Just what we wanted!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rum Island Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rum Island Cabin
comfy full size pillow top bed kitchenette on left, bathroom/shower on right
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Rum Island Cabin
comfy full size pillow top bed
kitchenette on left, bathroom/shower on right
screened porch: relax, view turkey, deer, armadillo, turtles, birds...
Relax. barbecue in your private, peaceful surroundings.
small springs 100 feet from gate
path to river/springs from cabin
cypress knees at river edge
Rum Island Cabin
Manatee at Ichenetucknee
River reflections
Great white heron on the river
peaceful kayaking
campfire at night
little springs at night
sunrise at little springs
sunrise on river
barbque, picnic, relax on hammock, have a campfire in your own private area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort White, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laureen S
1 review
“Fantastic - Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Rum Island Cabin was everything we could have asked for. The setting is very private and within walking distance through a forest path to a beautiful small spring. We spent our days kayaking the Sante Fe River to the various Springs (Lily, Blue, Ginnie) and our evenings enjoying the beauty of the natural Florida wilderness by campfire. Most spectacular was when darkness fell and the woods lit up with fire flies - it was like someone lit the forest up w/ thousands of blinking white Christmas lights. Thank you, Dave & MayAnn for a fabulous vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural beauty of the setting
Liked least: small freezer BUT this was noted by owner in the ad so it is NOT a complaint. Bring ice!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thanks Laureen, We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol A...
1 review
“WhT a treat!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Such fun, tiny house living at it's best! Great location, great hosts, I have no negative criticism of this property. If you love the outdoors but want a roof over your head this is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to River and park
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thanks Carol. It was a treat to host you and we would love to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's a long way down to the river!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

On the positive side, the hosts were gracious and accommodating and the woods were quiet.

My objections to this cabin as a retreat may have more to do with my age than anything else. The springs and river are not 100 feet from the cabin. The distance is more like 300 feet and the terrain is sloped and bumpy—fine for kids to navigate but a challenge to an old lady like me. Also, the two times I did manage to get down to the river, with the help of a cane, there were teenagers partying at the springs.

The cabin itself is adorable on the outside, but a bit disorganized and kitschy on the interior. When I pay this amount of money for lodging, i would hope to find a reasonably color-coordinated, tidy interior. I hesitate to post a negative review, but there are probably other people out there with similar expectations, and I think they might be disappointed in their selection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: The distance, reachability of the river
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Barbara was a great guest and we enjoyed having her. The walk through the woods to the river/springs is more like 100 "steps"...and a natural path. "Kitschy" is probably a good description of the inside-but definitely not disorganized.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb K
Watertown, Wisconsin
1 review
“Little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Rum Island Cabin in late March 2016. Our hosts, MaryAnn and Dave are 2 of the nicest people around. The cabin was everything we expected and more. MaryAnn and Dave made sure we had everything we could need, from extra soaps to maps and brochures of the area, and wood for our 1st campfire. It is in a awesome location, steps from the Sante Fe River and Jonathon Spring. We will be telling all our friends of this little gem in Northern Florida and hope to return in a year or two.
Deb and Gary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine3...
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Peaceful retreat"”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is a sweet tiny house retreat. Great property and great owners. We loved the path down to the springs/river and set up our camp chairs for a morning. We ate in High Springs one night and pie iron sandwiches on their kettle grill the other meals. We hope to come back. Great area to explore on that beautiful Santa Fe river. I didn't like the booking or cleaning fee. We stayed 2 nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing