We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to reach KW!”
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have driven to and flown into Key West more times than I can readily count. And while they're both fine, nothing compares to the Key West Express trip we just took for a weekend getaway. The entire process, from making the reservation to grabbing Bloody Marys when we got on the boat, was super-simple. DO NOTE: If you plan to have drinks on the trip, bring cash. Once the boat gets off shore, they lose internet and can't run a credit card.

I've been around boats my entire life, but my wife hasn't and she was a bit nervous about the boat rocking. But even in the heavier seas on the way down, the boat is big enough and fast enough that she had no ireal ssues. And the view from the top deck is like something out of a Corona commercial.

When you fly into KW, the airport is on the far side of the island from Duval St/Mallory Square, and it's a $25 minimum cab ride (no Uber there yet). And having a car there can be a liability since parking can be really hard to find. But the boat dropped us right at the marina. You step out and there's Dante's on one side of you, and Caroline St on the other. We used the Paradise Porters, who delivered our bags from the boat to our hotel, and then picked them back up when we checked out on Sunday, so we were free to explore the moment we stepped off the boat. Fantastic.
ALSO NOTE: the Key West Ferry Terminal inexplicably does not have its own bar. We would've enjoyed a cocktail or two while waiting to board for the return trip, but no such luck. Next time, we'll get them in to-go cups! And next time, we will absolutely use the express again.

2  Thank rik f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Rik, you are right about cars being a liability in Key West. Parking is difficult to find and can be quite expensive. Many B&B's do not have guest parking therefore public garages must be used and can be blocks away. We are delighted you gave us a try and enjoyed your experience. As you mentioned, Dante's is right next door, so many choose to end their island visit with a swim and cocktail at this popular spot! Thank you for your review...and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"return trip"
in 187 reviews
"day trip"
in 195 reviews
"stay overnight"
in 47 reviews
"conch train"
in 34 reviews
"fort myers"
in 198 reviews
"your luggage"
in 31 reviews
"ferry terminal"
in 22 reviews
"top deck"
in 92 reviews
"both ways"
in 54 reviews
"play cards"
in 27 reviews
"boarding process"
in 25 reviews
"rough ride"
in 20 reviews
"snack bar"
in 82 reviews
"sit outside"
in 30 reviews
"boat leaves"
in 20 reviews
"duval street"
in 18 reviews
"marco island"
in 43 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 1 842 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very pleasant journey. Just don’t do one day. Make a reservation at a key West hotel for a night or two. Same day was the mistake we made. Not worth it.

Thank marcia1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The trip itself can be super relaxing without being behind the wheel. Spending a night or two does allow visitors to really experience Key West however a day trip is just right for many. Island enthusiasts who visit frequently know just where they want to go for example lunching at Blue Heaven or Garbo's, picking up a new pair of Kino's at the sandal factory, checking out a gallery or two, libations at Sloppy Joe's and Irish Kevin's and maybe a dip in the pool at Dante's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took the Keywest Express on a day trip to the keys. They were very hospitable. It’s a great way to visit the keys! Our only regret was that it wasn’t enough time in the keys. I suggest staying at least three days.

Thank loriklatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your compliment of our hospitality and service. A day trip can be a lot of fun.....but a teaser as well. The island is loaded with history, attractions, activities, art and entertainment, shopping, dining, fun bars and more so spending a night or two are ideal to fully explore the charming destination! We hope you are able to do just that next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great service to Key West. It takes 4 hours each way, with parking available at the dock. The crew were first class, and very helpful. The return fair did not seem expensive, and is 2 hours shorter than driving. This boat certainly packs a powerful punch, if your interested, 13,000bhp using 700 galls of fuel per hour and travelling at 40 mph.

Thank UkuleleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your compliments of our crew and service. Many first time guests are amazed by the power of our vessels comparing them to a jet soaring across the water. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back aboard. Best Regards, Key West Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Because so much damage from Hurricane Irma remained along the Overseas Highway to Key West, we opted to take the Key West Express rather than deal with the lack of available services and miles of destruction remaining on the inter-connecting keys.

When adding in the time required to arrive early for boarding plus the return trip to our home an hour and a half away, we wondered if the round trip fare for three persons was worth the expense.

We certainly can't understand why anybody would make a trip down and back in the same day when it leaves so little time available to enjoy Key West. The trip each way plus travel time to the boat and back home, leaves very little time available for anything other than travel.

Our morning trip to Key West was very smooth although the air temp was too cool for comfortable topside seating once we were outside the Fort Myers Beach harbor and got up to cruising speed.

Unfortunately, all the inside seating area was occupied and we had to settle for what was left on the stern where we were subjected to back-flowing diesel exhaust fumes.

The return trip four days later was extremely rough but we planned ahead and arrived at the terminal two hours prior to our departure so we could be assured of getting more comfortable inside seating on the lower deck, near the stern bar area for a more stable and comfortable ride.

The first two hours of the return trip were exceptionally rough with seas cascading down the side of the boat and across our port side window and the crew was kept busy dealing with seasick passengers.

The third hour became more tolerable and the final hour hour was relatively calm.

Late into the second hour we were treated to a beautiful sunset, albeit, much of it was often blurred by the constant flow of water across our window.

The crew provided very good service in each direction, although, understandably, there was little traffic at the bar or food service areas on the return trip.

Maybe if we go to Key West again, we'll drive.

Thank jyates34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your feedback, are glad you gave us a try and hope you reconsider traveling with us especially as your experience was overall positive. Both Fort Myers Beach and Marco Island are very popular vacation destinations therefore a large number of our guests are in the area and do not have a 1.5 hour commute therefore a day trip is a great way to get a taste of Key West. The island is quite small and very limited in parking for visitors which can render a vehicle cumbersome. Thank you for your compliments of our crew and taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing