We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Place on the Beach”

Review of Gateway #595

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fort Myers, Florida

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CnCsmom
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Nice Place on the Beach”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I was concerned after reading the two most recent reviews. We did not find any smell and it appears the couch has been replaced as it's not the same one in the pictures. It was just my husband and I on this trip and it was perfect for our needs. Close to Times Square if we felt like being in the busy part of town, but also a quiet beach and pool area if we felt like relaxing. Would definitely return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the Beach
Liked least: No Beach Towels or Chairs provided
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phillip S
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Needs update”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Negatives - condo smells very bad with overwhelming musty smell. We had to buy candles to overcome the smell. Also, the living room furniture is disgusting. The cushions are black with dirt. We did not want to sit on the couch without covering with a sheet.

Positives - location is great. Pier and state park are both within easy walking distance. Beach view from the condo is great. The bathroom has been upgraded and the unit has a washer and dryer which is convenient.

We have stayed at gateway villas and other condos nearby for the last several years. This unit (GV 595) needs to be updated or at least thoroughly cleaned before we would stay here again. I paid $120 per night. I would not recommend anyone pay any more for this unit. There are many other comparable condos in the area that are better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beach view and location
Liked least: Smell of condo and living room furniture was dirty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankeefan...
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NEVER stay here, this unit is a dump!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This unit is a dump and the employees at Beach Accommodations are rude and unfriendly. After driving 24 hours to get to this unit we found a note on the door informing us that the water was going to be off by 9 AM for a couple of days for 6 hours each day for construction purposes. This meant if we wanted to shower and cook breakfast we needed to have this all done before 9 AM. When we are on vacation, we like to sleep in and not have to conform to a schedule because of construction. Also, the unit smelled old and moldy. When attempting to unpack we could not do so for the following reasons. The drawers in the furniture we broken and smelled moldy. When opening a dresser drawer it feel out on my foot and had a horrible musty smell. Also we could not hang up our clothes because there were only 5 hangers in the closet for a 16 night stay. After complaining the next morning we finally got some hangers and air freshener for the nasty drawers at 11 AM. We had many more than 5 items to hang. Therefore, we could not get settled in at 11 PM when we arrived. Also the ice maker was not working and it was rusty so even though we were thirsty we could not make ice. Also, there was a large puddle on the floor by the refrigerator. The next day when the maintenance man arrived he said he has checked out the fridge numerous times for a leak and could not find anything wrong. Therefore we had to deal with a small flood every day and clean it up. Slipped and fell once. The maintenance man ordered a new ice maker but it never came while we were there so they brought us a bag of ice which did not last for 16 days. 2 of the slats of blinds in the master bedroom were broken off so when we shut the blinds, people could still look right in since the master bedroom faces into the hallway that everyone uses. The next day they were fixed but it took a while so between this and the ice maker we lost a whole day of vacation waiting around for hangers and repairs. We are not comfortable having strangers in the unit when we are not there. The table on the lanai was broken to and this was also repaired. Everything in this unit is old, outdated and musty. Although the couch was comfortable, it was NASTY, dirty and stained we only sat on it with a blanket or towel This unit needs new appliances, furniture and a competent management company that is not rude to you when you stay and make complaints. If you want a nice vacation, DO NOT STAY here. The only good thing was the view and proximity to the beach, but MANY other condos and hotels offer this. I would not stay in this condo again for FREE.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: washer and dryer in the unit
Liked least: everything mentioned abovie
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
It is an unfortunate that you feel this way. Everything you mentioned in your review was taken care of in a timely manner. Cleanliness and maintenance are two things we strive on. It is unfortunate about the water we were only notified on Monday of this issue as well. It does state in the contract that ~ (There are two main things that BAL is unable to control when it comes to unforeseen circumstances. The weather and any construction. ) We did give you a credit on your reservation and even offered to give you a refund for the remaining days so you could locate other accommodations, but you refused the offer!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing