We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pancakes”
Review of The View Cafe

The View Cafe
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Botha's Hill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 January 2020

The view Cafe has a great range of delicious pancakes and a friendly relaxed atmosphere. The view out over the Valley of a Thousand Hills is amazing.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shaunlegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2019

Apart from the wonderful view (even if there is mist) the View Cafew is my most favourite restaurant. Absolutely love the pancakes especially the milk tart one. And oh boy the scones I had last month were super.
My husband loves their Burgers. And I have been known to have a milk tart pancake and then follow it with oion rings 😀.
If anyone is looking for a new place to go and relax (and take your fur baby too) The View Cafe is the place to go.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

I went up to The View Cafe because the reviews were so good. I wanted to try their much raved about pancakes but I prefer savoury to sweet. I settled on a Thai Curry pancake. The pancake was cold, chewy and crisp on the edges, and the filling was more like a glutinous (as in thickened with flour) chicken a la king. There was no trace of a Thai flavour whatsoever. The salad was a tired couple of pieces of lettuce, a couple of baby tomatoes, dried cucumber and no dressing. I also had a cappuccino which was bitter - possibly made from brewed coffee rather than fresh grounds. Overall a rather old fashioned menu (unless you are into milkshakes and mince toasties) and definitely not worth the 30km trip from Durban.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank jansykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2019

Absolutely AMAZING food and great service from Shaun. This is a rustic venue with the emphasis on relaxation with its breathtakingly beautiful view and soul food. Conversation flows with everyone radiating peace and relaxation after taking in the amazing views. The meals are generously portioned, full of flavour. I highly recommend this venue. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank RubiRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2019

The most breath taking view of the valley of 1000 hills, delicious food and the most welcoming staff, whats not to love?
Can highly recommend this spot!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmerlyHesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The View Cafe also viewed

Botha's Hill, KwaZulu-Natal
Botha's Hill, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Botha's Hill, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.