We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
115
59
20
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
59
20
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts swimming pool and beach an umbrella free movies saw dolphins relaxing week rented unit been coming here for years cleaned daily we've stayed balcony door chair service long weekend nice condo common areas shower curtain great amenities
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We booked for 5 weeks on glowing reviews from friends. The location of this resort is fabulous...right on the beach. Unfortunately, the broken walkway over the dune meant we had to slog thru the sand along the walkway....awkward going down, worse coming back. For nearly 2 weeks after our arrival in late January, the pool was closed! We are hearty swimmers from Wisconsin, and swim in nearly any Florida weather. This year was extra-cool, so a few days of closing was OK, but not the length of time it was closed.

Apparently, unbeknownst to us, the resort was undergoing major renovations. The balconies facing the pool/ocean were one of the things being redone, and while the building had been painted, and new railings installed, the light fixtures and tiling still remained to be done....one at a time....all day long. The whine of the saw bouncing back and forth between the two wings of the building all day while we were "enjoying" the pool was a bad joke. Had we been given an option to cancel due to renos, or postponing, we easily could have stayed in Orlando a few more weeks, at least until the pool was opened. Had we know about the constant saw whine, we would have opted out completely. But since we had not taken the insurance, my husband felt we were out of luck.

We enjoyed our stay because of the "snowbirds" who have been coming here for 15+ years and the activities they organized (not management). We were told recent management changes had changed the response to renters complaints, and we experienced that firsthand. We had issues with rats coming into our unit. Management took two days to respond with Pest Control setting a trap in our AC closet. We did not catch a rat and neither did several of our friends who had the same issue. After a week or so, all evidence of the uninvited visitors were gone. Management stated that rototilling of the sod around the building let them come inside, and I do believe that because there were no more issues. The problem I have is with management's lack of a caring attitude. I felt that our complaints were not addressed in a timely fashion, and that management just didn't care.

There are so many places to stay in the area, and we will look elsewhere next season.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mytrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika B, Manager at Holiday Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

It is never easy to hear that we have not met the expectations of our guests. We strive to make every stay enjoyable. Some factors are beyond our control, due to weather and other conditions. The building is comprised of individually owned units managed by various entities. I can only speak for the on site management and express our sincere apologies. We can only hope you will consider returning at some point in the future for an improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our stay. The resort, pool, and beach were all nice. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The only really bad part was the bed in our condo #220. It needs replacing immediately. It was the worst bed I've ever tried to sleep on. The owners of that condo have to know and should have replaced the bed a long time ago.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank teachtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika B, Manager at Holiday Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for the feedback. We will take action on your comments and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We booked our condo in May of 2017 for a week in May 2018 to ensure that we would get exactly what we wanted. (Room on first floor with king sized bed) Three other rooms were also booked by family members. 2 weeks before our stay, we received an email stating that our room was being renovated, and we had a choice to stay in a room on the second floor (with 2 queen beds) or a room literally in the parking lot. We were told that if we wanted to back out, we would only get refunded if the room got rented out by another family for the length of the stay that we booked. Obviously with other rooms being rented out by family, and not wanting to risk being out $1,300, we decided to take the room on second floor. We get to room 217 and it was immediately no surprise as to why it was the only one available. What a DUMP !!! Ice maker broken, oven broken, FILTHY, STAINED shag carpet throughout. Not to mention, literally being in the shower for 6 mins before it got cold. After expressing our concerns multiple times to management, (even with the GM, Alex) all we were offered were extra excursions through a third party. The staff at Holiday Surf and Racquet have the worst customer service skills and could care less about the crappy experience their paying customers have!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mollypittenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika B, Manager at Holiday Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

We regret that you had a less than satisfactory experience staying with us. Holiday Surf and Racquet Club did extend every available solution to an unfortunate turn of events for your recent stay. The units are individually owned and we are somewhat limited by contract terms. It is unfortunate that our attempts were not perceived as good customer service. The renovations to the requested unit were not able to be completed prior to your stay. We offered an alternative condo, but admittedly, we had limited ones for you to choose from. It is never our position to inconvenience a guest, or to have them experience a disappointing stay. After researching, we found no maintenance reports for any failing appliances, nor a housekeeping report to re clean anything you deemed unsatisfactory. We take these issues very seriously and would have immediately addressed any concern. Our inspection yielded no oven or ice maker issues. Again we sincerely regret that our efforts were not well received.
Thank you,
Holiday Surf and Racquet Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

After 18-years of Spring and summer trips we were so disappointed in our stay. To start, we checked into our 2-bedroom unit on the second floor at 4PM to find subcontractors were still working on the unit. Tools, tile pieces and grout dust was everywhere. The front desk professed ignorance and frankly did not seem to care. No apologies, simply no care on the front desk’s part. They offered a vastly subpar unit as the solution. Wi-Fi was inconsistent and there was nobody available to assist us in resetting the modem. Lost long term renters forever. Shame on the new management company and staff. The only bright spot was the usual beach service from Foley.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika B, Manager at Holiday Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

We regret that you had a less than satisfactory experience staying with us. Holiday Surf and Racquet Club did extend every available solution to an unfortunate turn of events for your recent stay. The units are individually owned and we are somewhat limited by contract terms. It is unfortunate that our attempts were not perceived as good customer service. The renovations to the requested unit were not able to be completed prior to your stay. We offered an alternative condo, but admittedly, we had limited ones for you to choose from. It is never our position to inconvenience a guest, or to have them experience a disappointing stay. Again we sincerely regret that our efforts were not well received.
Thank you,
Holiday Surf and Racquet Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Very relaxing week in Destin. Condo was perfect and had a great view of the Gulf. The staff was very gracious & helpful. Holiday Surf & Racquet Club is just the right size--not too big but large enough to have great amenities like the heated pool, tennis courts & a business center. We were very impressed to see a handicapped ramp to the beach near completion. Bravo!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank KYjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika B, Manager at Holiday Surf & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you we needed that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews