We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wingate by Wyndham Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$220
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$546
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$421
US$333
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$160
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Destin(Destin)
US$231
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
173
135
83
47
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
135
83
47
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace buildinggift cardduring peak seasonbedroom bath condobunk bedshot tuboutdoor poolthrough vrbowasher dryerspring breakbring your owntiki hutview from the balconynice resortgreat condofamily vacationwe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I see that I am not the only visitor who is extremely disappointed in spending over 2k for a vacation ON THE BEACH to find out that if you do not rent chairs from resort you are stuck way back on the beach away from ocean view or if you do rent you are sitting on top of other people!!! It's all fine and good that resoert is near all the action and offers a beautiful ocean view balcony but we have come to the beach for several years and there are many other condo resorts to choose from. We thought we would try right in Destin for the kids, however, we will go back to our favorite condo in Okaloosa next year and just drive to Destin. The condo at Pelican is ok and everyone is nice but we drove 10 hours for the beach ....... THE BEACH! My brother is mentally handicapped and loves to sit at Waters edge but not gonna happen if I am not close to edge to watch him. Your resort needs to seriously rethink this. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank mtzky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your comments and recommendations. As this is the page for Pelican Beach Management, we're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experiences with the beach service company. They are contracted separately from us by the Pelican Beach Owners' Association. The beach service company is beginning their second year here and they are one of the largest in the area and offer a variety of services and products for guests and owners of the resort complex. The overall reviews and satisfaction with the company has been more towards the positive than your review suggests.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at Pelican Beach since 2007. Five years ago I would have given this place 5 Stars. We loved it here. After this week we will never stay here again. Sadly, I have seen many comments like this throughout different review places on the internet and it's turning into a trend. The biggest down fall is the new beach rental company that they claim is a convenience for their guests so they don't have to carry beach chairs or umbrellas down to the beach. That would be ideal, but the prices are over the top and a huge fee on top of what you have already spent to stay here. They rope off the sides and say you cannot have any private beach set ups in front of a sign about 5 to 6 rows back. We asked a city life guard who was nearby about sitting up front on the beach where there was plenty of room. He said "I don't work for the resorts, I work for the city. The first 20 feet from the water is city property." We went ahead and sat there like many people were. We didn't set up an umbrella, just 4 short beach chairs where we could feel the water and still be comfortable. A man with a "security" shirt with the rental logo on it came around asking those in front of the rentals if they were watching small children in the water. If you said yes, he would allow one or two people to stay. If you said no, he would remind you of the resorts rules and say the rule is you can't set up private beach set ups in front of the sign. I asked who owned the beach. "Pelican does." "We paid to stay at pelican, so we are on their property and are fine." He said "when you pay to stay here, you also agree to abide by their rules." I asked who owned the water and he said "pelican does not own the water." So I moved my chair into the water. Many people are upset and it is a huge talk around the resort. We also understood the anger of those who paid for the front row. They were told they would have an unobstructed view of the ocean. They were scammed. Pelican Homeowners Association needs to seriously consider changing their rules back to the way it was when we first fell in love with this place in 2007. It is quickly turning into a trash hole and no one will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your comments and recommendations. As this is the page for Pelican Beach Management, we're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experiences with the beach service company. They are contracted separately from us by the Pelican Beach Owners' Association. The beach service company is beginning their second year here and they are one of the largest in the area and offer a variety of services and products for guests and owners of the resort complex. The overall reviews and satisfaction with the company has been more towards the positive than your review suggests.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well I have been coming to Pelican for about 8 years or so and I’m very disappointed with all the new things going on. I know last year they started the chair rental thing where you can only rent them if you want to sit by the water and I’m sorry but I pay just as much as everyone else in the resort and if i don’t want to pay for a chair rental I should still be able to sit by the water. Also this stupid wristband thing makes no sense. What if I have friends staying some where else with their family and they want to come spend the day with me. So this will be our last family vacation at Pelican and it’s sad. We loved it here so much and now we hate it!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your comments and recommendations. We're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experiences with the beach service company. They are contracted separately from us by the Pelican Beach Owners' Association. The beach service company is beginning their second year here and they are one of the largest in the area and offer a variety of services and products for guests and owners of the resort complex. The overall reviews and satisfaction with the company has been more towards the positive than your review suggests. Again, we appreciate your comments and concern - especially from a repeat guest.

We thank you for your patronage of the resort and do hope you would consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very little beach access. They basically make you purchase over priced beach chairs in order to be near the beach and then set up signs behind 5 rows of them saying NO private beach setups beyond this point and then rope off the entire area where you can't set up to the left of or the right of. It's such a small area for the amount of guests staying in this large condominium. The beach chairs are a joke and cheap. At least in Panama city they actually have large comfortable lounge chairs where you can actually lay back and you have more beach access and can setup your "private" things anywhere you want. Its like a scam because they set up rope and signs on the sides also saying no private setup beyond this point this is for owners and guests only but pelican set the sign up not the owners of the other property and pelican is the only ones down the beach ropping us off like zoo animals. We will never return here or Destin, PCB is so much better. The condos in destin are so overpriced. They have a monopoly on the beach down here. Too many rules, people don't like rules. They make you wear wrist bands you can't take of the entire time of your stay, they literally tighten it around your wrist and you cant take it off unless you tou cut it which you aren't allowed to do. Most condos give a rubber wrist band you can take on and off. No washer and dry in the rooms and the washing machine was broke on our floor. There is only one elevator area for beach access for the entire place and it gets packed and soaking wet. The pool is in the side if the building and after lunch there's no sun and it's pretty small area.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank Misti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and recommendations. As this is the page for Pelican Beach Management, we're listening and looking for every opportunity to assure a quality vacation experience.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experiences with the beach service company. They are contracted separately from us by the Pelican Beach Owners' Association. The beach service company is beginning their second year here and they are one of the largest in the area and offer a variety of services and products for guests and owners of the resort complex. The overall reviews and satisfaction with the company has been more towards the positive than your review suggests. Many of the guests have enjoyed the convenience of not having to get up early and drag their beach gear back and forth to the beach each day.

We appreciate your patronage of the resort and do hope you consider a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend & I took a spur of the moment long weekend getaway to Pelican beach. Our condo was fabulous, clean, relaxing and our room view overlooking ocean was amazing. Crystal clear waters on super clean beaches!
I would also highly recommend taking trip out to crab island. We rented a jet ski and went there. It was a super fun beautiful place to go

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 269martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Resorts of Pelican Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences and review of Pelican Beach. We appreciate your comments and hope you’ll come visit us again, soon! We offer exclusive discounts to past guests ... so please keep us in mind for your next trip to Destin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews