We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post walk lunch”

The Rose and Crown, Charlton
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Charlton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you are looking for a Pub full of character, with roaring fires, real ales and top-notch classic pub grub, then The Rose and Crown in Charlton, Banbury is the place. The Pub is cosy, friendly, inviting, with low beams and a dusky, candlelit warmth. Country walkers love this pub. There are drinking bowls for thirsty dogs and a well kept landscaped garden to be enjoyed in the summer months. With easy access to the M40, Charlton benefits from a central location with major towns such as Northampton, Warwick, Oxford, Milton Keynes, Bicester, Banbury and Leamington Spa all less than 20 miles away.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Called in looking for a light lunch after a walk. Table pre-booked but sat in garden under shady tree in glorious weather. Three of us chose the chicken Caesar salad and the 4th quiche of the day with a Greek salad. All were excellent. Washed down with two different real ales which were also very good. Very friendly and welcoming service. Delighted to call here again.

1  Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struan K, Owner at The Rose and Crown, Charlton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

We look forward to your next walk through and nibble :)

Thank you for taking he time to review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2018

We ate here 2 nights in a row as our B&B was just down the road. The food was delicious and were looking forward to our next night after the first. Staff were friendly and eager to please. The pub seemed to have a high proportion of locals which is always a great measure of how a place is consistently good. We look forward to returning in September when we go back to the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struan K, Owner at The Rose and Crown, Charlton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

September can’t come sooner ;)

Thank you so much for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Knew of the pub and used to go for a Wednesday night pub here many years ago. But now it has new family owners who understand how to run a pub and small restaurant. The beer, which includes Timothy Taylor Landlord, is outstanding, to the degree that their Landlord has been given the first commendation outside of Yorkshire by the brewery itself! It’s a divine pint and top marks to the cellar keeper who is the grandfather (I think!)
We went on a busy Saturday last weekend and found a welcoming and well managed small restaurant in the bar. The jungle curry I had was massive and super hot, just as it should be. My wife’s cod was a little over cooked but not bad enough to comment on. Our friends meals were also well cooked and the menu had some great and unusual choices.
There are great views from the garden and all in all, we loved this revised pub and would highly recommend

Thank Skinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struan K, Owner at The Rose and Crown, Charlton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

This is a review we are peacocking around the pub as we type :)

Thank you so much !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Amazing service made to feel very welcome, very engaging and attentive family ran team without being intrusive. Food very good, not trying to be over the top but value for money and good looking plates of food possibly my new favourite local pub!!

1  Thank Frank4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struan K, Owner at The Rose and Crown, Charlton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Wow ! Thank you so much Frank ! We love this review , look forward to welcoming you back !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

A 25th wedding anniversary here was quite exceptional. Fantastic food, attentively served and a great mix of people of all ages. This place just keeps going from strength to strength. Its great for a quick pint after walking the dogs (bags of parking round the back), weekday lunches are good, week-ends can be busy but always good value; the garden is exceptional and the views terrific. A good choice of wines, gins and the beer is kept immaculately. It's the family TLC that makes the difference. You can't get that from managed pubs. This is what a village pub should be.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidRJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struan K, Owner at The Rose and Crown, Charlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you so much David ! This glowing report has really put a smile on our faces .. we really feel you have captured what we love doing :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose and Crown, Charlton also viewed

Middleton Cheney, Northamptonshire
 
Farthinghoe, Northamptonshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Rose and Crown, Charlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing