We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to spend an hour”
Review of Glenesk Wildlife

Glenesk Wildlife
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Glenesk
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Unlock the 'Secrets of the Glens' and discover the incredible wonders of Glenesk. Not only is the scenery stunning but the wildlife is thriving and there are some great stories of times past! Be led by one of our experienced guides, ecologist, Jackie Taylor or gamekeeper, Andy Malcolm both with a wide range of experience and incredible knowledge of the land and wildlife. You can book a half day or full day tour between April and October - all tours include refreshments prepared by Glenesk Retreat and if you are lucky enough to book a full day then a full picnic of local treats is provided! Tours can be tailored to what you want, whether you a photographer looking to capture the wildlife or whether you just want to get away from it all and experience the quiet and beauty of this glen. You may be interested in the history of which there is plenty! Tours are suitable for all whether you are a family looking for that special day out or a couple seeking a romantic adventure.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We went for lunch to the Retreat on Sunday and noticed there were wildlife land rover trips into the glen for £10 for an hour per person . We had the most interesting hour and the lady who took us out had my full respect as we were off road and boy could she handle the Land Rover . We saw deer , white hare and birds of all descriptions . I have been a visitor to the glen for over 50 years but I saw a bit I had never seen before and learnt a lot I didn’t know . They do half and full day trips but these hour trips are in everyone’s price range and I can honestly say it was a fascinating way to spend a part of a Sunday afternoon . The lady who did the tour was brilliant company and we had a lot of laughs at her stories . An excellent outing for adults and children as well . We will certainly do it again as the glen is always changing with the seasons and there will be something different to see every time .

Thank 367mollyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria B, Guest Relations Manager at Glenesk Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

What a lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed the taster trip and hope you will join us again on the half or full-day tour. Jackie, is our new tour guide who works alongside Andy who also runs the tours for Glenesk Wildlife. We are very lucky to be located in one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"saw deer"
in 2 reviews
"andy"
in 7 reviews
"estate"
in 4 reviews
"seasons"
in 2 reviews
"retreat"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"osprey"
in 2 reviews
"adder"
in 3 reviews
"curlew"
in 2 reviews
"glen"
in 2 reviews
"stories"
in 2 reviews
"loch"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018

We began our tour with a warm welcome and a coffee before setting of in the Landrover. Andy was keen to ensure we were all comfortable, the tour took us to our first small lochan and wood where we saw treecreeper, Red squirrel Curlew mallard and lapwing. As it is close to breeding season we were lucky to see golden plover held back by snow still on the high ground. Together with several curlew, oystercatcher, lapwing and partridge. This was a sample of what the day had to offer with super views of Red Deer, Roe Deer, parters and a superb insight to the historic buildings and way of life past and present within the Glen. Andy’s 25 years experience gradually unfolded the larder of cultural, historic and wildlife treats. In particular he was keen to gauge our knowledge and interest thereby ‘tailoring’ the tour to meet the needs of our group. Time well spent. A huge thanks to Andy and Jackie who clarified several pant species and to my tour companions.

Thank Ro92n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria B, Guest Relations Manager at Glenesk Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

It sounds like you managed to see plenty of wonderful wildlife! Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your tour and do hope you will join us again on a full-day tour where you will also experience a delicious picnic with a view (prepared by Glenesk Retreat and Folk Museum)! We are lucky to have Andy as our tour guide, his main job is a gamekeeper on the estate which explains his incredible knowledge of the wildlife, history and the land. Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We felt very fortunate to be able to go with such a knowledgeable guide as Andy, and to have the opportunity to see the wide variety of wildlife of the area. He went out of his way to show us everything we wanted to see. The spectacular scenery, outstanding wildlife, and Andy’s knowledge, all added to make a memorable day that is one of our highlights of this year, and will be forever.

Thank 54Sue12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria B, Guest Relations Manager at Glenesk Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

What a lovely review! Thank you, we will be sure to pass on your comments to Andy. We hope we can welcome you back again this year so you can explore somewhere different, there is so much to see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This was bought as a present for my parents and son (9), but I ended up joining the trip as well. The best day out ever! Andy asked about our interests and hopes for the day, so that he could tailor the trip for us and his knowledge of the area and of the estate was amazing. My son has told everyone about the moment he saw golden eagles, dear, a peregrine and an osprey all from the one spot. Highly recommend this trip.

Thank gmcd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria B, Guest Relations Manager at Glenesk Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

It sounds like you had a fantastic experience! We are excited about the new season of tours starting again soon and hope you will join us again! Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I spent an enjoyable day with Andy Malcolm showing me around the Invermark Estate. Andy is very knowledgable about the area and the wildlife. The day was tailored to suit my requirements. As a photographer I am always looking for places that offer the opportunity to capture landscape and especially wildlife images. The areas around the estate and Loch Lee have some wonderful landscapes that change with the seasons. The wildlife was varied, from adders to ospreys, and many others. I will be back in the future to experience more. I can highly recommend Glenesk Wildlife to anyone looking to enjoy Scottish landscapes and wildlife in their natural state.

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleneskWildlife, Manager at Glenesk Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

It sounds like you had a wonderful day with Andy, he certainly knows the land and where to see the magnificent wildlife! Hope we can welcome you back one day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenesk Wildlife also viewed

Been to Glenesk Wildlife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing