We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”
Review of Summer House

Summer House
Ranked #45 of 288 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Rehoboth Beach tradition, the Summer House is known for its fresh, well-prepared food presented in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere with prompt and friendly service. Jumbo lump crabcakes, tender barbecued ribs and chicken, just-ground burgers, veal and wild mushroom meatloaf, and monster steaks are just a few of the restaurant's specialties. A varied selection of salads, soups, starters and yummy side dishes round out the menu, and specials change daily. On Monday, it's half-price burger night, 4-9:30 p.M., And Miller Lites are just $2.50. Summer House Three Course Prime Rib Dinner night on Wednesday and Sunday nights. DJs keep the joint rocking on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday nights, and Sunday offers a great brunch menu and Bloody Mary Bar, 11 a.M. To 3 p.M. Lunch is available seven days a week, 11:30 a.M.-3 P.M., And the business lunch menu on weekdays features two courses for just $12. Don't miss the happy hour specials at the main bar, 4-7 p.M., Monday-Thursday, with great appetizer menu, $2.50 Domestic beers and fresh-squeezed grapefruit and lemon drop martinis. Enjoy extended Happy Hour on Fridays til 8PM!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was glad they let me adjust what was on the menu but the food was so-so. The tenderloin was great but burger not so good, crab cakes average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Carrie H.,

Thank you for your recent visit to Summerhouse and taking the time to leave a review. We take pride in serving a delicious product at a reasonable price. I will share your comments with our kitchen team.

Thank you,

Lisa Breedlove
Summer House Restaurant
Big Fish Restaurant Group
228 Rehoboth Ave.
Rehoboth Beach, DE 1997
302-227-3895(restaurant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Monday is Summerhouse Day because their Burger Day is renown to all locals. All day half-priced Salmon, Tuna and Beef Burgers with your choice of fries, sweet or regular, or a veggie side. Monday evening is very popular so arrive before 5:30pm or be prepared to wait. The restaurant is popular during the rest of the week but they are the King of Mondays.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jeffrey R,

Thank you for the great review and feedback from your recent visit. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed Burger Night and our variety of patties! We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team. We hope to see you again soon.

- Summer House Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Summer House is so much better now that Big Fish Group runs it. All the food is good, even the burgers and sandwiches. Lots of TV's to enjoy your sporting events as well.

Thank ehbeer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

ehbeer4,

Thank you for the great review and feedback from your recent visit. Thank you for being such a loyal guest, and we will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team. We hope to see you again soon.

- Summer House Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives: The crab cakes were phenomenal. Not much filler and a lot of crab...delicious. The fried pickles were some of the best I've ever had. The server was friendly and attentive.

Negative: My brother-in-law ordered the ribs. When they came, there were burnt to a crisp...not even edible. He sent them back and got a burger instead, which he said was good. I'm just not sure how you can send that out, if you're a cook and I'm not sure how you can deliver that to a table, if you're a server. Had he ordered the burger originally and he'd not had the ribs experience, this would've definitely been a 5 star.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

David T
Thanks for your recent visit to Summerhouse and taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad that you enjoyed the crab cakes and your service. I apologize about the ribs. I will address your comments with my staff, as the ribs should have never gone out to your table that way. I hope this doesn't prevent you from visiting us in the future.

Thank you,

Lisa Breedlove
General Manager
Summer House
lisa@summerhousesaloon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to The Summer House on a Tuesday night because last time we were here, they had Long Island Ice Tea specials on Tuesday between 4-7. No longer. They call it Long Island Ice Tea night (their version of it) but NO special!! There were 7 of us and no place to sit at the bar. They would not allow us to take up one of their empty tables just for drinks. So, we said we would order some food and were sat at the table. Appetizers were half price at the bar, but not at the table we were at which was 5 feet from the bar and the tables were in the bar area! So no drink specials and no food specials for us. On top of that, our female waitress was very snippy. My niece ordered a "Grilled Cheeseburger". When it was delivered to her, it had no cheese on it. The waitress said "she asked for no cheese". Okay then why would you order the "Grilled Cheeseburger"?????? She asked for no lettuce and no tomatoes. The waitress offered to bring her a slice of cheese. OMG! Normally you want your cheese melted on the burger! We said "no" just adjust the bill. They took 10 CENTS off the bill. Their version of the Long Island Ice Tea was more like a Whiskey Sour. So, that is the end of The Summer House for us!!

Thank Levia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Summer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Levia p.

Thank you for your recent visit to Summerhouse and taking the time to leave a review. We take service and hospitality very seriously and we are always working hard to improve our guests’ experiences. I apologize that you did not receive the service that we are known for. We always share the comments from reviews to better coach our staff so these situations don’t occur again.

Thank you,

Lisa Breedlove
General Manager
Summer House
lisa@summerhousesaloon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Summer House also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
 
 

Been to Summer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing