We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Generous and well equipped”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa H
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Generous and well equipped”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here this past weekend with our family and 5 dogs. The house was very well equipped, the owners were very lovely and more than helpful. The couches were comfy, bathrooms clean and house was warm. We would highly recommend and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenv390
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house for large family get together.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked the house to celebrate grandmother's 80th birthday, the house was well located for guests travelling from Manchester and Scotland. The house is large, beautifully decorated and yet homely. There is a conservatory where 15 of us dined in comfort and ate our BBQs. Its in a good spot for exploring the coast, the Lakes and Cartmel. The booking and arrangements were all straightforward as the owner is very pleasant and most importantly we were able to bring our dogs. We'd go again.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Chris...
1 review
“Beautiful house with very versatile accommodation.”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This beautiful house easily accommodated our party of 9 adults, 5 children(aged 5 to 15) and 2 dogs! Eric and Helen were very welcoming and provide some lovely little extras. There was plenty of outside space and the views from the patio were stunning. The location made the southern lakes very accessible. All in all, a comfortable and relaxing holiday for our family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
It was a joy to have you all stay at Bankfield House...so glad you enjoyed your stay and there will always be a welcome for you here anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGJ711
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“14”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015


Week spent in Bankfield house with a party of 9 adults, 5 kids and 2 dogs.
House was lovely and clean, towels provided and bedrooms spacious and comfy and enough room to make most into family rooms.
Plenty of space for our party not to feel on top of each other, although the kitchen did feel slightly cluttered with a lot of bits on the work surface, along with the extra kitchen table and chairs.
House itself is maintained for a house of its age.
The kids spent a lot of time in the garden which is secure. Plenty of car parking space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harding12...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay.”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Bankfield house is a beautiful house in lovely surroundings. Everything a large family group with 2 dogs could possibly need, very clean, spacious,and well equipped . The garden is perfect for all and Helen and Eric have thought of all the touches to make your stay easy and relaxing. planning our next stay already!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything and the space.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Bankfield House .We always like to get feedback from our guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the very best,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$317
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing