We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic spacious house in a great location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather11...
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastic spacious house in a great location!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Bank Field in march, eight adults, one of who was in a wheelchair, and a 3 month old baby. The house complete our stay and made it into a truly fantastic holiday. The house is spacious, wonderfully decorated, has beautiful views across the bay and is great for entertaining and socialising. We had a warm welcome from Helen and Erik who were so helpful throughout our stay. I would recommend the house to anyone and hope to stay there again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house layout inside and out made it great for socialising.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect mixture of grandeur and homeliness”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

An adult family group of nine of us plus 2 Labradors enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Bankfield house in March. We were met by our friendly hosts Helen and Eric who live next door and given a tour of the property. We were made to feel very welcome. The house is located in a stunning position overlooking Morecambe Bay. It is very well equipped, warm, spacious and well situated for south lakes attractions. It is well worth the walk up Hampsfell to appreciate the views. The Pheasant inn also deserves a visit, delicious food. We would have no hesitation in booking Bankfield again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcoming feel to property
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
Hi Jane,
Thank you for sparing the time to post a review.Helen and I appreciate it a lot when we get such kind comments.
Hope you all come back soon,

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thank you Jessica for taking the time to post this review....you forgot to mention the hide and seek !
Hope to see you next year,

regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Unforgettable Weekend”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A party of 12 adults and 4 kids stayed here for a long weekend at end of Jan to celebrate 40th Birthday. Property exceeded our expectations, amazing house with plenty of space, great views and well equipped. We have stayed at many properties in Cumbria but this beats the lot. We were met by Helen and Eric on our arrival, who showed us around and everything we needed to know. The house had a warm welcoming feeling as you walked through the door and was decorated with great modern taste whilst keeping traditional look. All our guests expressed interest in booking the house themselves in the future. If you have kids it is a great place for them to have fun, and especially if they like hide & seek! We would just like to thank Helen & Eric for making our weekend so special and will have no hesitation in booking Bankfield again in the future, I am sure we will be back. Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Could not find fault
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2014
thank you for your kind words,we loved having you all and hope to see you some time in the future
Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing worthy of comment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing