We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barnabyan...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were warmly greeted by Eric & Helen on arrival and were thoroughly looked after - we had a grand tour and were left with a welcome basket of goodies - very kind and much appreciated. The house still has some of the original features and is really beautiful and the views are amazing - we could see the sea from the sitting room! The entire setting is so relaxing, warm and welcoming that we really didn't want to come back to reality. Thank you so much for providing a wonderful holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Hi Barnaby and Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It is always very heart warming for Helen and I to read such kind words.Glad your stay was so enjoyable and haste ye back !!
Best regards,

Eric and helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheenagh...
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“best birthday ever”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

we went to bankfield house for my 50th birthday as it was half way beteen us and our friends, we were all very happy with the house so much so it was the best birthday ever there was 11 of us and the amount of bathrooms no one had to wait to get ready in the morning, every one said it was the best sleep they had had in a long time the beds were so comfortable, it was very clean and had everything possible you could need or want and from arriving to going home eric and helen were very warm and friendly and we will all be returning at a later date. thank you for a lovely house and week x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Thank you Sheenagh for making time to post this review as we know you are having a hectic time at the moment !
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bankfield House,best wishes to you both

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn H
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“This property has everything and more, good location, views and excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Excellent property ,warm welcoming reception from helpful owners, included all you would expect and more, with, stunning views of Morecambe bay and nice walk to bay via the promenade close by. Fantastic house for group entertaining. Good location for visiting local amenities ( especially friendly welcoming Pub) good walks close by.
in all very good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the views, the locality and the friendly warm reception from the owners
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike in our experience-other than the 'runner' in the hall which needed to be replaced or attched to the main carpet.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2013
Hi Glyn,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It is always rewarding when our guests say such good things about their time at Bankfield House.Glad you all enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back some time,take care and our very best regards.

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedicte...
Cergy, France
1 review
“A wonderful place in a beautiful district”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Eric and Helen were very friendly and helpul.
The house is really exceptional : very large and comfortable, the sights from it are beautiful. Besides, it has an historical character and the atmosphere is especially cosy.
The area is very interesting : it's near breathtaking landscapes and most people were very nice. We had a great time and excellent memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our guests'reception and discretion as well as the beauty of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It has been a busy year for Helen and I and it gives us a real boost to read such kind words.
retournez ici et a bientot.

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was perfect
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Hi Sheila,

Thank you so much for your kind words,it means so much to us when we get feedback from our Holidaymakers.We hope to see you all again in not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing