We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
29
56
41
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
56
41
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat placestayed one nightstayed longerelephantswaterfallsettingbathingwalkstouristshostplateauofferingseason
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night and loved it. Think we got the best room in the place. Our room looked straight out to the river which was amazing. Short walk to the waterfalls. The staff were lovely! Dinner was amazing. Beautiful food and service.
We were the only people staying there so very quiet.

Elephants -
We loved watching the elephants bathing but at the same time had real issues with them being chained up and people riding on them. No no and no! This needs to stop! I felt so sorry for them! When will this cease!?

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Set right near waterfalls, this lodge is perfect. The rooms are clean with new bed linen and decent lighting you can easily read by. The food at dinner was very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast less good. Any comments about poor accommodation must be referring to the backpackers rooms across the river and owned by Tadlo. As for the adverse comments about the treatment of the elephants, we've never seen more chilled and happy elephants brought down morning and evening for their bath. This lodge is really super.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WJFHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

This lodge was a marvel at some point in the past- the main building is beautifully designed and built. Breakfast on the big veranda was tasty and scenic. But--- the sleeping rooms are tacky and in need of rejuvenation. There are holes in the bedsheets; the curtains are installed backwards, the mosquito nets do not match the beds- how do you use 2 single nets on a double bed? And the grounds are littered with trash. There is also a large family of pigs who live under the rooms. The place is so run down- looks like it needs new ownership and a thorough remake.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with pigs in the basement!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lusakadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Tadlo Lodge feels like a fairly exclusive experience without the price tag. Set alongside the river and waterfalls the dining area offers magnificent views and there are lovely areas for walking as well. The room was nicely done but let down by some sizeable holes in the sheets. We also couldn't help wondering about what appeared to be the drainage from the sink/shower into a water way in front of the buildings. Not sure whether this is good from a hygiene perspective even though this is probably only grey water.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

They should be ashamed for keeping in captivity two (that i saw at least) adult elephants with chains in their legs and forcing them to stay there until some tourist shows off to see them refreshing in the river or ride them for a while.
These practices are prehistorical and should be banned from any natural environment.
Just look the happiness in their faces....

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews