We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, (elephants), location”
Review of Tadlo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tadlo Lodge
Reviewed 19 January 2015

While it's a bit hard to judge the full value for money, this is a seriously nice way to sleep in some woods next to a beautiful waterfall.

The room (in a sort of terrace of four rooms in a wooden bungalow) was a nice size, with lots of charm. Even the more functional bathroom area was properly wildlife proofed (not always the case with accommodation like this). Unfortunately, we booked to late to avoid a twin room - and with beds this size and fixed mozzie nets there was no sharing or rearranging to be had.

The setting is as lovely as other reviews suggest and although it's away from the village the restaurants and walking trails are within easy reach.

The downsides are the thin walls (you'll soon know if your neighbours have a cold) and a fairly boring food selection in the otherwise nice restaurant. Also the staff are .... unhurried, shall we say, though perfectly friendly.

Room Tip: We spotted the bungalows Laurinfunzik refers to but can't corroborate if they were only $20 - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

We spent a night here and it was really gorgeous. The waterfalls are impressive and the resort is right on the edge. I'm giving 3 stars because the rooms do not give justice to the price. While the location is great, they could improve the decor and make the bathrooms more appealing, instead of basic plastic mirrors for a room in the 100$ range. The food was also average but the view from the restaurant is amazing.
That said, while talking with the manager we discovered there are other bungalows on the other side of the river, a 7 min walk from the main facility, which have direct view on the falls (so may be more noisy) but come at 20$ a night! That is a great bargain. The bungalows are exactly the same and the price is low due to the walk in the forest needed to reach them, but we did it and t was fine, you may only need a lamp at night. So ask for those ones!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laurinfunzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

We spent 3 days here, but if we could we would have stayed longer. Ok it's a little pricy for Laos but !
Waterfalls : there are two beautiful waterfalls, and many spots where you can swim and have shower under them.
Elephants : The hotel owns two beautiful old female elephants. They have never seen a stick or a hook and are trained by love and they love humans. you can go close to them, pet them or feed them at any time of the day, and at sunset they bath in the river.
Restaurant : the food is great with a great view on the waterfall and service is full of smiles
Room : clean, nice and you hear the sound of the waterfall
Management : since december 2014 there is new management who is rehabilitating the bungalows on the down side of the river (10m from the strongest waterfall). And he is making it all even better.
Activities : there are many ethnic villages near the hotel, upper river, take your time to visit them and see the real traditional Lao lifestyle.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StenRett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2014

Stated her with my wife on 9th December.
Fantastic location right beside the waterfall
Took an elephant ride and then watched the elephants bath in the river.
Fine was excellent. Chose Lao style food which was plentiful and delicious.

Lao beer the cheapest I have seen in a hotel

Rooms are rustic but provide essentials needed

Would stay again

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KJMColdstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We spent one night at the Tad Lo Lodge as we were motorbiking around the Bolaven Plateau. The lodge is well-situated on the banks of a river and you can see the waterfall from the deck at the restaurant. The rooms are perfectly adequate, particularly given the price, although the bathrooms are oddly set up and don’t have enough hot water. Our main complaint with the lodge was the incredibly disinterested service. There are many staff members on the premises, but they are always chatting with one another rather than working. Check in was very confusing and it seemed they were in quite the hurry to kick us out of the lodge in the morning. At 7 am, we cold hear staff outside our room and opening the windows, we realized they were setting up to change the sheets and towels bright and early. Breakfast was good with fruit and a couple hot items available buffet style as well as eggs made to order. Only downside was that there was no juice, only coffee and tea. There are a pair of elephants at the lodge, which you can ride, although we didn’t have time to do so. They are chained up all the time, which is disturbing, and the workers leave their saddles on all day, which can’t be comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank stephandgio_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tadlo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tadlo Lodge

Address: Ban Tanglea, No.20 Rd, Lao Ngam District, Ban Laongam 1406, Laos
Region: Laos > Salavan Province > Ban Laongam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ban Laongam
Price Range: R628 - R714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tadlo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tadlo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tadlo Hotel Pakse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing