We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Saise Resort(Ban Laongam)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
28
57
41
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
57
41
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat placedining areastayed longerstayed one nightmy opinionrooms are cleanwon twild animalsmorning and eveningwaterfallmanagersettingtouristslaosgroundsbathing
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

We spent a night here and it was really gorgeous. The waterfalls are impressive and the resort is right on the edge. I'm giving 3 stars because the rooms do not give justice to the price. While the location is great, they could improve the decor and make the bathrooms more appealing, instead of basic plastic mirrors for a room in the 100$ range. The food was also average but the view from the restaurant is amazing.
That said, while talking with the manager we discovered there are other bungalows on the other side of the river, a 7 min walk from the main facility, which have direct view on the falls (so may be more noisy) but come at 20$ a night! That is a great bargain. The bungalows are exactly the same and the price is low due to the walk in the forest needed to reach them, but we did it and t was fine, you may only need a lamp at night. So ask for those ones!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laurinfunzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

We spent 3 days here, but if we could we would have stayed longer. Ok it's a little pricy for Laos but !
Waterfalls : there are two beautiful waterfalls, and many spots where you can swim and have shower under them.
Elephants : The hotel owns two beautiful old female elephants. They have never seen a stick or a hook and are trained by love and they love humans. you can go close to them, pet them or feed them at any time of the day, and at sunset they bath in the river.
Restaurant : the food is great with a great view on the waterfall and service is full of smiles
Room : clean, nice and you hear the sound of the waterfall
Management : since december 2014 there is new management who is rehabilitating the bungalows on the down side of the river (10m from the strongest waterfall). And he is making it all even better.
Activities : there are many ethnic villages near the hotel, upper river, take your time to visit them and see the real traditional Lao lifestyle.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StenRett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2014

Stated her with my wife on 9th December.
Fantastic location right beside the waterfall
Took an elephant ride and then watched the elephants bath in the river.
Fine was excellent. Chose Lao style food which was plentiful and delicious.

Lao beer the cheapest I have seen in a hotel

Rooms are rustic but provide essentials needed

Would stay again

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KJMColdstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We spent one night at the Tad Lo Lodge as we were motorbiking around the Bolaven Plateau. The lodge is well-situated on the banks of a river and you can see the waterfall from the deck at the restaurant. The rooms are perfectly adequate, particularly given the price, although the bathrooms are oddly set up and don’t have enough hot water. Our main complaint with the lodge was the incredibly disinterested service. There are many staff members on the premises, but they are always chatting with one another rather than working. Check in was very confusing and it seemed they were in quite the hurry to kick us out of the lodge in the morning. At 7 am, we cold hear staff outside our room and opening the windows, we realized they were setting up to change the sheets and towels bright and early. Breakfast was good with fruit and a couple hot items available buffet style as well as eggs made to order. Only downside was that there was no juice, only coffee and tea. There are a pair of elephants at the lodge, which you can ride, although we didn’t have time to do so. They are chained up all the time, which is disturbing, and the workers leave their saddles on all day, which can’t be comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank stephandgio_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

The lodge is in a very rural location and set by the Tadlo waterfalls. Our stilt bungalow was basic but clean. The open dining room overlooked the river and we enjoyed a good evening meal and a more than acceptable breakfast there. We received good service from the staff but we were accompanied by a Laos guide who ensured everything was to our liking. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and the walks by the waterfalls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews