We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krakatau and Ujung Kulon ”

Ujung Kulon National Park
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Pandeglang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Several islands consist of coral reefs, mangrove forest and lowland rain forest. There is one of the last populations of Javan rhinoceros here.
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We had a nice 4 day trip to krakatau volcano (camping) and Ujung Kulon national park with black rhino tours. Apud arranged everything. Beautiful nature, nice food and good communication with Apud.

Date of experience: December 2017
3  Thank Nielscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ujung kulon"
in 39 reviews
"peucang island"
in 26 reviews
"boar"
in 6 reviews
"local guide"
in 4 reviews
"remote place"
in 4 reviews
"monitor lizards"
in 4 reviews
"wild animals"
in 3 reviews
"jungle trek"
in 3 reviews
"coral reef"
in 3 reviews
"be careful"
in 3 reviews
"boat ride"
in 3 reviews
"excellent trip"
in 2 reviews
"low cost"
in 2 reviews
"next year"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful nature"
in 2 reviews
"white sand beach"
in 2 reviews
"thank you so much"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Ujung Kulon National Park is a place that worth to visit. You can go there by join open trip or share cost to get low cost trip. I chose the 2nd option and use Ujung Kulon adventure (find it on IG). You can go there by commuter line to Rangkas then take minibus (Elf) to Taman Jaya before you take a boat to Peucang Island. Watch out the roads are bumpy.
There are some modest accomodations in Peucang Island or Handeleum Island, depends on when you arrived there. You can hang out with monkeys (they can be very aggressive), deer, boar, and peacock. You can do snorkeling, paddling in Cigenter river, visit Cidaun Savannah and capture many photos. You can walk to the forest (you have to accompanied by the ranger) and see Kiara tree. The tree that has been survived from tsunami during Krakatoa eruption. Remember there's NO SIGNAL, bring snacks and water. Enjoy your trip.

Date of experience: November 2017
4  Thank xave151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We drove from Jakarta and stayed at a place call Villa Colada just outside the park. Drive took about 4 hours and was interesting in and of itself, passed through lots of small communities and interesting sites (and lots of trash at times). We ended up just doing a one day trip into park. Booked "speed" boat through Tajung Lesung Beach Club ($800 for boat and three crew/guide). Started day with 1.5 hour boat ride to Peucang Island, was comfortable for 4 of us, wouldn't want to do that with more passengers. Water was a bit rough going out but settled down once we got into lee of islands. Saw Son of Krakatoa on way. Did a 5.5 mile stroll through jungle and saw boar, deer, peafowl, monitor lizards, monkeys, wide diversity of plants/trees and many other bird species. After having lunch we did short crossing to mainland Java and walked very short trail to Cidaon "savanah" where we saw lots of peafowl and banteng (wild cattle). This is last place on earth where one-horned Javanese rhino live but we did not see them. This is also the place where a park ranger got video footage of a large cat (some say Javanese tiger, others leopard) take down a banteng. I saw footage (Nat Geo) and it sure looked like a tiger to me. Given that happened just a few days before we were there we were on our toes looking for whichever big cat it was! After Cidaon we stopped off and did some snorkeling which was refreshing (and lots of fish and coral). Then boat ride back to villa and done. All in all a very satisfying day.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank derbyking98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We (24 male and 25 female) did a 5 day and 4 night trip through the Ujung Kulon national park with a local guide (speaks just a few words in englisch). We started from Sumur (Hotel Wisma Sarang Badak, which organised the whole trip) and took a boat to Ujung Kulon. Our first day was great: befor midday we went to the cingenter river. There we took a kayak and paddled up the river. There we discovered eagels, monkeys, a python and a 2meter crocodile which just took a swum in the river in front of us. This kayaking trip was very beautiful. Back on the boad we had lunch. Next we took a snorkeling trip next to peucang island. After that the boat droped us in the Ujung Kulon national park. At the beach we slept in a little old house which was empty. Round the sleeping place was lot of trash and it was just disgusting to find that many trash in a national park. The next 3 days we hiked through the park, 6 hours a day. We saw not many animals, just a few monkys but we also saw a lot of rinoceros foot prints. The trips was unique and the national park has a lot of beautiful places but the potential of the park is not used beacaus everywhere is trash. The guide portes all the gear and he cocked three meals a day. Unfortunetly it was rice, three times a day. Sometimes we had fresh fish, which was cought by the guide himself.
I recomend the trip to people which like to be in the nature, but do net expect to much from the park or its fauna.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Roya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We went to ujungkulon national park in July. We spent 2 nights in Peucang island.
Peucang island is very natural place. It was an amazing trip for my 3 years old
little daughter. She enjoyed a lot with natural things. The beautiful beach and many
wild animals around her. The monkeys, wild pigs, deers, peacocks, wild lizards,
the birds and bats. The beach has transparent water, white and fine sands, very
beautiful colors and a lot of fishes. Morover, the tropical forest has many enormous
plants from more than two hundred years ago after the eruption of Krakatau that
caused tsunami.
One thing that we should be pay attention to the weather. We have been cancelled the
trip to Krakatau due to the bad weather. It should be an awesome experience to go
there but the strong winds and wild waves it was impossibile to go there.
We went also to visit Baduy tribe. It was very interesting to know more them how to
live in different life...
Hope we can be back in another time to see Krakatau. Thanks to Apud, Ateng and
Sukia. They are really a good team. Until today my little daugther still remember
Ateng that was so nice with her. For any visitors need help ps,connect to local guide WA +6281288463182

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank caeciliasavitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ujung Kulon National Park also viewed

Tanjung Lesung, Banten Province
Anyer, Banten Province
 
Pandeglang, Banten Province
Pandeglang, Banten Province
 

Been to Ujung Kulon National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing