We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our perfect holiday!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Banjar, Kullu District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pooja A
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Our perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

An awesome destination, picture perfect location, rustic and artfully done home, mouth watering gourmet food, warm hospitality, attention to every detail and great hosts! For A While stole our hearts! We stayed with Shalini and Dam for 8 nights and didn't want to leave. Will definitely will be going back many many times

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namchu
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We'll have to keep returning till we have enjoyed For A While for a longer time, in every season.”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We reached FAW after sunset (thanks to my taking the wrong turn somewhere). And from the moment we (my wife, our 7-year old daughter, our driver and I) stepped in, it was quite apparent that this was not just another impersonal holiday home constructed to profit from the city dwellers who head for the hills come summer time.

Elegant, stylish and rustic, all at the same time, this labour of love, built personally by the Dams, is also their home for most part of the year until they are forced to flee the severe winter and head down to Gurgaon for a couple of months. So you will see a lot of the couple in the choice of furniture, cutlery, the design of the kitchen, the choice of bed linen and even a toilet paper roll holder!

Built with wood, stone, mortar and slate, the main building as well as the two cottages have a lot of quiet nooks and corners for you to curl up with a book. Talking about books, don't carry any because you will find the Dam's library is very well stocked and there are always several books kept for you in cottages as well.

While we didn't wake up next morning to be greeted by a spectacular 180º view of some mountain range, there was something even better. The river. It's right there! Many a cup of tea was enjoyed while sitting by the window hypnotised by the sound of the river.

It was June and we had rain. Persistent rain. So we didn't get to do much walking around the place. So me and my 7-year old cuddled up and watched a few Disney movies. The Bose Bluetooth speaker placed casually by the bed side table in each cottage is a very nice touch!

Mealtimes at FAW were something we really looked forward to. It was almost like the Dams are competing with each other on some Masterchef show set in the mountains. With the help of a couple of enthusiastic local boys (who have been trained by the owners themselves), the couple dish out some really yummy meals. Baked Trout. Truffles. Baked Chicken. Khao Suey. Noodles. Dumpling soup... and even Maggi for our lil one. After a few meals, we learnt that, at FAW, one must always leave some space for the dessert that follows.

We wish we had had more time at For A While. We were only there for 3 nights. But we will be back - for the food, the quiet (no internet/limited mobile coverage), the view, the calm... and most importantly for the warmth shown by the hosts and their team.



This is a place for all seasons.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swetam77
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a while resort kullu”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Place is great very beautiful and cosy away from the hustle bustle of the city life . It's meant for the avid trekkers ,anglers and honeymooners. The place is awesome reaching there is a problem . But worth it once u are there . Only negative part is it's not at all child friendly . People with kids should avoid visiting the place . Food and the timings of the meals r weird . No special consideration for kids and even fresh meals were not served for kids . If u r travelling without kids then its absolutely fine to visit .Also fresh towels r not provided .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Dear Sweta, Thanks for taking out the time to write a review. We are a small B&B and are far from perfect, and rely heavily on feedback from our guests to improve their stay. However your review seems to be coloured by the fact that we charged you for damages to our property. Bear in mind that we charged you a nominal amount that did not even cover half our cost. In addition we found other broken things after you had checked out. To the points you have made above I would like to respond with the following facts. Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9 am, Lunch between 1 and 1.30 pm, Dinner at 7.30 pm. This was done as you wanted so. Only the evening you checked in was the dinner served at 8 pm as you had not told us when you'd like to have dinner. All meals are prepared fresh and dal and chicken stew from lunch time was kept aside for your son for dinner at YOUR BEHEST. As for special consideration for kids, we do it all the time for all our guests and did that for you too. Be it sending a jar of Nimbu pani to your room or hot chocolate for your son after dinner, or serving extra salads etc. These were done at no extra cost and happily. In fact we would personally come and ask you about your food preferences before every meal and then ask you if everything was fine during meal times. You always gave us a positive feedback. As for the fresh towels, nothing could be far from the truth. You were given pristine white fresh towels. Yes we do not change the towels daily in the spirit of conservation but are happy to provide fresh towels when asked for. This is clearly communicated in the Guest information booklet in the guest rooms. Given all this we were a bit flummoxed with your review and have come to the conclusion that we somehow offended you by charging for the damages even though you were in full agreement when we spoke about it We understand that our business depends on guest review but we also believe that guests need to show some consideration for the Host's property and hospitality. Having said this, we are sure there is room for improvement at our end too and so thank you once again for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing