We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
103
20
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home small garden walking distance a great stay melinda unit accommodation pe port lapa boardwalk guesthouse braai comfort
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Margate Place. We stayed in a lovely, comfortable room and the staff were attentive and frienly. Thank you Johan and Gabi for contemplating our every need. We hope to be back soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RonelL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate_Place, Manager at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Ronel,
Thank you so much for your kind response.
We hope to welcome you back here very soon
Kind regards
Melinda, Trevor, Princess and Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Have just returned from a fabulous family trip to South Africa which included 4 nights at Margate Place Guest House. There were 10 of us and we had 5 out 7 of their rooms which were all great, Melinda, Trevor and the team were so hospitable and made us feel very welcome. It felt like a home from home and there was excellent communal space to relax and socialise. I cannot recommend this Guest house highly enough and if we ever go back to Port Elizabeth we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If you are a family then Rooms 6&7 create a great family unit but so do 3&4.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank TheMontynuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate_Place, Manager at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Clive,
That a lovely compliment! Thank you so much for that.
Our motto is a wish that all who come as guests may leave as friends and I hope that you too felt that
It was a privilege to have you here on this birthday trip for your parents
We hope to welcome you back again in the future
Melinda, Trevor, Katie and Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Melinda and the entire staff are just service champions. Our room was great, clean, fresh and kust beautiful.
The location is really good as it is close to many restaurants, the boardwalk casino and stunning beaches.
Thank you Melinda for everything, we surely coming back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank MliboM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate_Place, Manager at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It was really our pleasure to host you ladies from Standard Bank here with us.
You are always most welcome and we cannot wait for the next training session to roll around so we can take care of you again.
Kindest regards
Melinda, Trevor, Princess and Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Melinda is such a splendid character, we absolutely loved her to bits, if we were to stay in PE for longer it would have been partly because of her welcoming and generous nature.

Margate place is a lovely, clean, spacious place, with a home from home feel. Our family truly enjoyed our stay and it was within close walking distance to the beach. Family friendly, good kitchen facilities and a swimming pool :)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shahina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate_Place, Manager at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Shahina,
What a lovely compliment for us all here at Margate Place.
Our motto is truly to make our home your home while you are here so we are so happy that you felt that.
You and your family were a joy to have here and we would love to welcome you back
Safe travels therever you may go
Kind regards
Melinda, Trevor, Katie & Princess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights there. We will definitely be back. Our room was great, service really good and very well priced.
The location is really good as it is close to many restaurants, the boardwalk casino and stunning beaches.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JudyWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate_Place, Manager at Margate Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Judy,
Thanks for the kind words and I am very happy that you enjoyed your time here with us.
Although we cannot promise to bring Johnny Clegg back for you we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Melinda and the entire family here at Margate Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews