We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jet51508882522
East London, South Africa

excellent

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2019
We had an nice stay there and would love to come back again. I will recommend the hotel to everyone at home,family and at work.
We enjoyed staying there. The rooms were up to a standard,clean and fresh. the location of the hotel was easily accessible.The rooms were user friendly even for persons with disability like myself.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 330
R 1 232
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
R 988
R 911
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Suite
R 2 506
R 2 200
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
R 1 561
R 1 281
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 281
0.9 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 080
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 848
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 848
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
R 1 850
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 1 666
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Our sparkling pool.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Summerstrand Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Summerstrand
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
36
79
46
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
79
46
35
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2019

Hotel is very run down and maintenance generally poor.Toilet was leaking and zircon was not working.Bedside lamp also not broken.Huge tree in front of balcony blocks seaview !Hotel lift also outdated and needs overhaul.Rooms is good size and bathroom is also good size.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2019

I enjoy the location, the décor, welcoming , and it creates high expectations to the accommodation, but I was so disappointed. Firstly, I was never informed that my room will have two beds instead of one. Secondly, bathroom towels, foam bath, and air freshener were not there, thirdly, struggle to find the directory of the hotel, used my previous experience and dial 9.Your hotel has a great potential to bring tourists, but revamp your bathrooms.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Resort28486377889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2019

Summerstrand is situated just outside the busy beachfront area. The security can be given more attention. There is no security gate through which you enter. Was a bit concerned about my car at night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room had an air conditioner in but a small fridge in the room could make a difference.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherpa23527125268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2019

Hotel is extremely in bad location and very old,
air con does not work ( OLD ) - rooms décor is old and breakfast was not so great for what you pay ( R 255.00)
easier to go down to local steers and pay for breakfast at quarter of the price.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigate05842020775
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2019

The food at this Hotel is really terrible. This is the worst breakfast I have ever had. The bacon was blue back of colour and the potatoes was raw and bitter. The coffee is cold and the pots it is made in is barely working. The scamble eggs is like 'army powder eggs'. The only thing that was edible of a breakfast that I paid R165 per person for was the eggs that the chef made and the piece of toast we made. Dinners just as terrible I do not recommend that you eat at this place.

Room tip: I can only comment on the terrible food and the manager's incompetence and attitude
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rademeyermelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews