We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stuart1
Sheffield, United Kingdom

WOW

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2024
Wow stunning hotel beautifully appointed public areas situated on the coastal road.

The sea-view room was immaculate spacious with a fabulous bathroom. A very comfortable king size bed.

The room has all that you would expect in a 5 star hotel including U.K. style power points to recharge any equipment and USB points. If you want to use a South African plug point you must have a South African adapter (other two pin adapters will not fit - it MUST be a SA specific adaptor)

The staff were welcoming, even gave a short explanation of all the hotel had to offer. All the staff were friendly and smiling. A special mention of the young lady who made me an omelette for breakfast who was a delight as was her omelette.

Attached to a huge shopping mall with lots of great shops and fast food type restaurants.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Topi Mkhonza, Other at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 22 Apr 2024
Dear Stuart

Thank you so much for taking time to give us such a beautiful review with regards to your stay at our hotel. we are truly honored and appreciate the beautiful comments that you have made. we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 484
R 3 186
  • Priceline
    R 3 484
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 225
  • Mantis
    R 3 258
0.5 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Back entrance
R 2 662
R 2 137
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 134
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 365
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 374
0.1 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
R 1 866
R 1 717
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 866
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 850
0.9 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 342
  • Agoda.com
    R 989
  • Trip.com
    R 1 266
  • Vio.com
    R 1 000
0.4 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 890
R 819
  • Priceline
    R 890
  • Agoda.com
    R 890
  • Vio.com
    R 889
1.8 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 700
R 644
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Vio.com
    R 700
  • Expedia.com
0.9 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 242
  • Vio.com
    R 1 179
  • Priceline
    R 1 226
0.9 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 920
  • Agoda.com
    R 868
  • Priceline
    R 914
1.6 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 856
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 301
  • Radissonhotels.com
1.4 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Our sparkling pool.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Booking.com
    R 1 392
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 400
4.8 km from The Boardwalk Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Summerstrand
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
396
161
54
27
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
396
161
54
27
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 658 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

First impressions were okay, a large imposing property which would look at home in Florida, located across from beach, attached to mall with shops, casino and restaurants.
Large room, with terrace leading to pool BUT don't be fooled because service is extremely poor. I ordered bar food, when it arrived I refused to eat it, it looked terrible, the waitress even agreed with me! I spoke with Manager, who was very laid back and didn't offer any form of good will not even a drink!
I phoned Housekeeping about laundry and was promised it would be returned the next day. They were very slow to respond and next day my laundry never arrived, after chasing them again to discover they had forgotten to give it to the contractor! It was returned dirty, no compensation, nothing. They really don't care, the service at breakfast is not 5 star. They must be cutting costs, no pool service, no bar. Very disappointed 😞
No doubt the Management will cut and paste their standard response to this...looks like they've been referring these complaints for a while and nothing changes.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Topi Mkhonza, Other at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear Sharon

Thank you for giving us feedback with regards to your stay at our property, we can understand that you were not pleased with the services you received whilst at our Hotel. we are certainly prepared to learn from your feedback and make improvements. we hope that our services will be to your comfort in the future as we work hard to rectify where we went wrong.
Yours In Hospitality
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

Absolutely horrific hotel
Lacklustre employees who are so slow at doing anything they may as well be going backwards.
Food in the bar completely substandard
Apparently 5 * hotel when I have stayed in better premier inns.
The only positive was the fact it was only for one night.
No plugs for the baths and had to request one in reception and when I asked for one the hotel employee started to explain they don’t give out bath plugs because they are trying to save water.
You honestly could not make it up.
Terrible dated hotel with staff who really do not want to be there.
Give this place a wide berth.

Room tip: Ovoid like the plague
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Arran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Topi Mkhonza, General Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear Arran

Thank you for taking time to give us a review, we are saddened that your experience was not what you expected, we have taken your comments to heart and will certainly introspect and improve.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Deteriorated since my previous stay in 2019

LOCATION: Excellent. Across the road from the beach. Linked to the Boardwalk Mall.

APPEARANCE: Attractive. Victorian Style. Well maintained.

ROOM (Stayed in a junior suite):
Decor: Great. Blends in with hotel style.
Size: Very spacious.
Amenities: No extra blanket available during a cold spell.
Cleanliness: Excellent.
Quality of sleep: Very comfortable bedding. Cold.

SERVICE: Appalling. Marked deterioration since my last visit. Needs a serious shake-up. I stayed just 1 night and yet 2 incidents of note:
1. Phoned housekeeping to request an extra blanket during a cold spell. I am still waiting for the blanket...
2. We were a group that booked 3 rooms. 2 people requested a 1-hour later checkout at adjacent receptionists at the EXACT same time. 1 receptionist happily met the request, the other bluntly refused without even asking a room number or even pretending to look at the computer screen! Lazy? Arrogant? Bad attitude? Poorly trained?
Service at the Spa was excellent (But this is privately run by Camelot and not Sun International which probably explains the better service than the hotel)

DINING: Breakfast was average. Clean spacious dining hall. Limited selection. lacking variety (Not 5-Star). Good quality and presentation.

ACTIVITIES/FACILITIES: Great heated indoor pool - probably the hotel's biggest drawcard (Temperature should be turned up a notch though). Outdoor pool as well. Gym. Great spa.

LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Didn't have much time to explore. Ocean at the doorstep.

MY BOOKING AGENT: Hotel website as an MVG member.

Will I recommend/stay there again? Maybe. Not much competition in the area unfortunately. However with this service, they are trying hard to deter repeat visitors.

Room tip: If it's cold take your own blankets along
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelsFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Topi Mkhonza, General Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking time for giving us detailed feedback with regards to your stay at our Hotel. We truly apreciate this as it will help us to look into our service levels and improve.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2023

What a gorgeous hotel this is. It has the 'colonial' look about it but is modern as well. Fantastic rooms and omfy beds. The staff are great, making you feel at home and we had a lovely stay at the beginning and end of our Safari.
All creature comforts are there plus there is a bar, outdoor pool on the 1st floor and indoor pool and beauty salon on the ground floor. A small but adequate outdoor patio to enjoy the sun and an ice cold beer.
There is a casino opposite the main entrance and a small shopping mall next door with a few diff shops and eateries. All in all, a nice start and finish to our hols. Thanks guys

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Topi Mkhonza, General Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Dear Pauli

Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review with regards to your most recent visit to the property. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to give us a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023

This used to be one of the best hotels in Port Elizabeth, but it has lost its charm. Checking was a nightmare and no manager in sight. The receptionists are very incompetent and have no manners whatsoever. They need to be reminded as to whom is paying their salaries.

Breakfast service was poor, with chipped plates and coffee cups being given to us. For the price paid and what I received, I would have assumed I was in a hostel. Just left and went to wimpy where the service and meals were on standard.

Will never be back and will ensure that my company books elsewhere next time.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eshark111578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Topi Mkhonza, General Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Dear Eshark

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that you took the time to give us the constructive feedback which we certainly have noted and will remedy as a matter of urgency.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews