We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a themepark area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boardwalk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

+ big and clean rooms
+ Excellent breakfast
+ Shops and Restaurant next to the hotel
+ Friendly staff
+ Close to the beach
+ Nice Spa treatment
+ In and outdoor Pool
+ Casino just across the Main entrance

- TV was switch on when we arrived and it was very loud. Had to call maintenance cause the remote didn't Work
- tried to store our valuebals in the safe, didn't work, had to call maintenance again
- hotel located at some sort of themepark so sometimes very crowded and loud

Actually a very good hotel but for me personally a bit too big and loud

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lascar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lascar81,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. Your comments have been forwarded to & acknowledged by the relevant management for attention. We do hope to welcome you back soon and that you will find improved services. Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa.

Kind regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the most expensive in PE we found this hotel had great rooms, views and facilities. The bars and restaurant were very good, in the evening they had a curry buffet which was excellent.
We stayed for one night en route to the Addo NP.

Room Tip: All have sea views so much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nick J,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

A lovely hotel in a good position,although a little difficult initially to find the entrance. We had a really nice large room with sea views and good Wi-Fi. The food (both breakfast and dinner) were excellent with a nice menu selection. the staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant and we enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: Front, overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beverly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Beverly O,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This hotel opened it's doors for visitors in 2012. I have been regular visitor for the entire year. This is a hotel of high standards and service. The years after 2013 until now I traveled around South Africa and visited many 5 stars hotels. Today I am back just to find out whether the standards were kept high as they used to be. No surprise there- they are as good as they were before. Well done-staff and management of the hotel. One thing you can improve thought: food selection at the breakfast ( not as good as it is used to be) and service of the restaurant staff. Otherwise all is well.Congratulations. Well done.

Room Tip: All rooms,to the best of my knowledge are sea facing. Choosing room with a balcony and on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Dave K,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Really a stunning hotel in a stunning location. Professional friendly staff, lovely interior, spacious rooms, good breakfast. We also upgraded to a sea view room at a minimal daily fee which was well worth it!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Tony G,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1,4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0,9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0,1 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,6 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0,4 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
126 reviews
7,1 km away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Price Range: R2 217 - R3 927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing