We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
360
134
37
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
134
37
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolafricology spafantastic hotelroom serviceturn down servicelarge hotelbars and restaurantsoverlooking the oceangreat facilitiesbuffet breakfasttour groupsouth africarestaurant staffacross the roadonly stayed one nightrooms are spaciousattention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Really a stunning hotel in a stunning location. Professional friendly staff, lovely interior, spacious rooms, good breakfast. We also upgraded to a sea view room at a minimal daily fee which was well worth it!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Tony G,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This large, bright, modern hotel immaculately decorated in a Colonial style with large open common areas and perfectly located on a waterfront site. The staff were very friendly and helpful although the restaurant staff could be more attentive. The hotel adjoins a Casino and Shopping complex, both close enough to be easily accessed but separate enough not to intrude. The room was spacious, beautifully styled, with separate dining and lounge areas and well designed bedroom/bathroom. The bathroom was modern and everything worked well. The food in the restaurant could be improved and a warning, do not order any curry dish unless you can eat something severely hot. Breakfast was just ok. On the other hand, lunch in the Bar was very delicious, this was the pick of the eating. Also there are several restaurants in the shopping complex adjacent, so food should be well catered for.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbelbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear jbelbin,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer. We do hope to welcome you back soon and that you will find improved services.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Stayed at the Boardwalk Hotel while attending a conference there. The first thing that struck me was the friendly and courteous staff. Many a hotel could learn from them.
The facilities were great and the room was immaculate, beautiful sea view.
I recommend this hotel to any visitor to Port Elizabeth.
If you're interested in Park Running, the start is just outside the hotel on the beachfront.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room, the sunrises are awesome.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear CLTP,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Fabulous location and outlook. Rooms were beautifully appointed. However for a 5 star hotel I was surprised that there were no robes in the room. When travelling internationally and trying to pack lightly, (ie no comfy clothes) robes are most convenient for lounging around in your room. The bathrooms had no face washers which was also a surprising omission. Dinner in the restaurant was very nice and the staff, especially the head waiter who had a great sense of humor, were most attentive.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank OzTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel was beautiful inside and I ate in the dining room in the evening. Meal was delicious and inexpensive compared to prices in U.K. Ok to wander along the beach in the daytime but would avoid in the evening. Pity the weather wasn't so nice as my veranda had access to the outdoor pool. If you don't want to eat in the hotel there are plenty of restaurants in the shopping centre next door.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Diinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Diinker,

We are absolutely thrilled about your great feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other glees the Boardwalk Complex had to offer.

Thank you for choosing the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
David T Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews