We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maxprella
Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Safe, Central and Fabulous

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Nov 2022
Friend and I decided to take a little Stay-Cation in our own City. We were lucky enough to choose The Marine. Booked into a little family suite which was fantastic. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a great little lounge and kitchenette. Plenty of space for us to relax.
A few small issues – the kitchenette wasn’t properly stocked, were missing some glasses and a few other essentials, but to be honest, it wasn’t an issue. What was a bit of an issue was that the master bedroom is right near the vents and this can be very noisy and unfortunately one then cannot leave a window open. The master bedroom also gets a lot of noise at the evening shift change when the staff are coming and going.
The pool is also nothing more than a splash pool on the roof with a great view. But who needs a large pool when there is a massive ocean just across the road?
On the positive side, the staff are super friendly and willing to go the extra mile. We will 100% be back
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 554
  • Booking.com
    R 2 551
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 554
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 554
0.6 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Pool
R 890
R 819
  • Priceline
    R 890
  • Agoda.com
    R 890
  • Vio.com
    R 890
1.4 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 281
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 010
  • Trip.com
    R 1 275
  • Vio.com
    R 1 000
1.2 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 242
  • Vio.com
    R 1 179
  • Priceline
    R 1 227
0.3 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 042
  • Mantis
    R 3 114
  • Priceline
    R 3 035
0.4 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 844
  • StayForLong
    R 2 653
  • Trip.com
    R 2 849
0.9 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 920
  • Agoda.com
    R 887
  • Priceline
    R 914
0.9 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
Back entrance
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 137
  • Algotels
    R 1 078
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 374
0.8 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 644
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Vio.com
    R 700
1.5 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our sparkling pool.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 947
  • Priceline
    R 1 019
  • Trip.com
    R 1 633
4.8 km from Southern Sun The Marine
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Summerstrand
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
114
141
72
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
114
141
72
30
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

Excellent service from security to check in and housekeeping.front desk manageress was most courteous and helpful.breakfast options very extensive.all protocols observed.loved the ever smiling jolly chef.will return to this hotel whenever in the windy city.Rooms are well appointed.very clean

Room tip: Marine has everything in perfect order and control
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank vimnaidoo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2021

We were severely disappointed previously staying at the Beach Hotel and the Radisson, which were awful - not experiences we want to repeat! This hotel has on the contrary high standards, with a beautiful spacious suite overlooking the sea, a safe car park, wonderful breakfasts and outstanding service. This includes the reception staff, who were always on standby, even during the evenings, to assist and even help with document copying, required for our journeys back to Europe and UK. The staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful: we could not fault them.
The adjacent restaurant, De Kelder, offered good food in a hospitable environment, with again excellent service.
I can throughly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilmaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2021

We were most pleasantly surprised with the unobtrusive and attentive service we received throughout our stay. The spacious suite on the third floor was spotlessly clean, nice linens, the recessed lounge area was ideal, and the modern bathroom totally functional. The breakfast was more than adequate and the wine gift was an added surprise. The location is ideal and ample accessible onsite parking. Thank you Cassandra and your team for making our stay a memorable one!

Room tip: Suite 333 if available
Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ErnRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2021

Easy 45 minute drive to Addo elephant national park entrance with good drives to see plenty of elephants. Hotel is across road from sea and has walking area and restaurants. Supermarket is few minutes drive.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank DrHappy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2020

This was described to us as the equal second best hotel in PE. We were there for the Test Match SA v. England, and only a few of our party were able to get into the best hotel because both teams, all their support staff, families, umpires, officials and the rest had just about filled it up! I got lucky with a room on two floors, kitchenette and sitting area below with bed and bathroom upstairs; two TVs. The hotel was full and some others in our party had terrible rooms and were moved several times. The hotel overall? It's OK no more. Good view if you are on the seafront; rooms lack character; reception staff do their jobs but that's about it (no extra effort). Don't go out after dark.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisJS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews