We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Neale G
Guildford, United Kingdom

More than "fit for purpose!"

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Jun 2024
All worked smoothly - the lady manager on the Sunday evening that helped us with dinner was excellent - charming and very efficient. I like the spacious working surface in the hotel rooms. Beds are comfortable and everything works. My dependable regular hotel in Gqeberha
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Very good option
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Worthington, General Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nealeg, thank you for the wonderful review and rating us so highly. We are pleased the team delivered on service excellence and cleanliness. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 191
R 2 846
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 846
  • Algotels
0.4 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 322
R 1 234
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 081
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
R 1 557
R 1 188
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 188
1.6 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
R 983
R 949
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 987
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 988
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel exterior
R 1 851
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 851
1.2 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 649
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 649
1.8 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our sparkling pool.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 232
  • Algotels
5.0 km from City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Summerstrand
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
46
79
35
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
79
35
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2024

The hotel was just perfect. The staff were friendly and very welcoming. The room was spotless and peaceful. I honestly enjoyed my stay at City Lodge and I can’t wait to visit again. I love the fact that I was able and allowed to either check in early or check out late the next day due to my travel schedule. Thank you City Lodge Gqeberha.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinazo_Gulwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Worthington, General Manager at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Dear Sinazo, thank you for the wonderful review and rating us so highly. We are pleased the team delivered on service excellence and cleanliness. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards – City Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2023

Excellent service from staff!!
The breakfast consisted out of a wide variety of fruit, yogurts, porridges, cold meats and breads!!
Eggs were prepared according to your taste and prefrance. Very nice room!!!

Room tip: What about bar fridge in room?
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Freedom51258518671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2023

I'm not happy with the telephone manners and service of your kitchen staff at all! Not friendly and they don't give same service to the guests and they're availability is really scarce and they respond long.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Thembela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs Cecile Fisher, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023


We're sorry to hear about your negative experience with the telephone manners and service of the kitchen staff during your stay. That is certainly not the level of service we aim to provide to our guests. We will address this issue with our staff to ensure that they are providing friendly and prompt service to all guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2023 via mobile

Amazing restaurant. Friendly staff. Clean rooms . Opposite the beach. Excellent service . Food succulent and tasty . Will definitely recommend this to my friends in the UK. Safety and security is top notch . You will definitely see us again on our next visit to SA

Room tip: Safe parking on site Top notch security Restaurant on site amazing and affordable Beach opposite with places to eat and drink…..
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2023

We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2022

Had a the chance to spend a weekend at CITY LODGE HOTEL P.E for the end of school holiday. I am not one to choose accomodatio at hotel because it is so pricey! City Lodge hotel offered a reasonable rates and we also had to try their buffet breakfast. Our family had the absolute time of their life! The kids first time at a hotel and they absolutely enjoyed their stay and the amazing selection at the buffet breakfast. The staff were so friendly and the place is neat ang clean! This hotel is my ultimate choice!

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank Rowena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews