We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SeaFly2016
Mumbai, India

Cosy and Comfortable

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2019via mobile

Bayside Guesthouse in Port Elizabeth was our first stop in South Africa on our planned trip across to Cape Town via the Garden Route.
The location is quiet and close to the city. The room was cosy and comfortable. There's free parking available as well as free WiFi. Stephanie and Alida are both hospitable and helpful. Alida gave us many wonderful and accurate tips to assist in our entire trip. She also cooked me the delicious 'Big Mama Omelette'. The breakfast was nice and had variety.
A Great start to our vacation
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this review
Responded 16 Apr 2019
Good morning "Seafly2016" Thank you so much for the lovely review. We as management and staff appreciate it.
We are glad we could assist you with tips on your travels and we trust you had a good time in our lovely city and country and Bayside Guesthouse.
Maybe we see you back some time.. You are very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Pool
R 920
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 000
  • Agoda.com
    R 887
  • Expedia.com
    R 879
0.2 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 242
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 201
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 350
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 576
  • Booking.com
    R 2 572
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 576
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 576
0.6 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
R 890
R 819
  • Agoda.com
    R 890
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 114
R 3 042
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 079
  • Mantis
    R 3 114
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
R 1 866
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 854
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 643
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 850
1.1 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 700
R 644
  • Agoda.com
    R 700
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 281
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 010
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our sparkling pool.
R 1 946
R 947
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 439
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 630
  • Trip.com
4.0 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 844
  • StayForLong
    R 2 653
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 724
1.7 km from Bayside Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Summerstrand
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
164
33
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
33
3
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2019

We arrived during a heavy rain storm to a warm welcome from the staff and every day it just got better. It was like staying with friends. The breakfasts were good, clean rooms and nice garden, secure parking and a swimming pool. The stand out feature were the staff who were so helpful and interesting to talk to. We loved our stay here and would come back again. It was an easy drive to the airport but very quiet. We did not like city but Summerstrand was beautiful. It is much better to stay here in a Guest House than a larger hotel.

Room tip: At the front of the property with a view of the pool.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2019

Hallo Lynda D. We still laugh when we think of the storm when you arrived. You were amazing guests and this always helps us to make people feel welcome. Thank you for the lovely review. The staff really appreciate such reviews as we work as a team and our guests are our no1 priority. You are always welcome and we hope to see you back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019

The welcome here is always warm and friendly. The accommodation is beautifully maintained. There is secure parking, and the grounds, pool area, and gardens are very good indeed. The bedrooms are of very high quality, and each has a sitting area outside. Kitchen facilities in the rooms are very good. The breakfast is really worth eating!! It is always fresh and beautifully cooked, with lots of good coffee and friendly conversation.

Room tip: All rooms are beautiful.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Awwwww....David H....We wish we could welcome you "home" more often!
We just love it when you visit and are always sad to see you go.
Miss you 2
Much Love from all of us at Bayside!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018

We were very disappointed with our stay in this accommodation...I cannot understand people who say they had a delicious breakfast....I could only describe it as mean....only fruit salad was served in a glass....one strawberry chopped and some chopped tinned fruit and portion so small it was insulting. Also just cheap sliced bread by the toaster...why cannot they offer better quality. The body lotion in our bedroom was watered down!! Tap in our room broken. Two dogs running free (we do not have a problem with dogs) others might not like this...in fact one jumped into our sons bed!!
Dog poo outside our bedroom door next morning. It was our first night in SA but I am happy to say everything was a big improvement after this B&B. Would recommend you look for an alternative.
I also felt the place could do with some refreshing....was looking shoddy. I believe the couple who own it just had a baby 7 weeks ago but we did not meet them during our stay just a young girl who kept telling us about the other guests....but there was nobody else there????
We did get some lovely emails before arriving saying how they were looking forward to meeting us etc but it was all just "talk" and "talk is cheap"

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiemay1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Good afternoon Maggiemay1979,
We are so terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed as our guests’ comfort and happiness is very important to us.
We however thank you for your comments and would like to reassure you that, the loose cover on the basin tap has been tightened and that we changed the bottle of body lotion in your room to be sure that it was the correct consistency.
We do not lock up or chain up our 2 very friendly dogs but had you mentioned that they were maybe too friendly for your liking we would have gladly kept them away from you for the duration of your short stay with us. Sorry, that one of them decided to do their business on the pathway leading to your room whilst you were having breakfast…this was promptly taken care of after you had eaten.
Your breakfast consisted of: Eggs, Bacon, Tomato, Mushroom, Sausage, Cereals, Yogurts, Fruit Salad (yes, it was served in a glass but it most definitely was not only tinned fruit and a chopped up strawberry. We also do not restrict our guests to only one portion), Fruit Juices, Coffee, Tea, Jams, Spreads and Cheese. Yes, the White, Brown and Seed bread is sliced (so that it fits in the toaster) but I do not understand how that makes it cheap.
I like to keep details of my private life private, but as you chose to mention on this very public platform, I did have a baby that I needed to take care of whilst you were here. However, you were in the very capable and trained hands of the lovely young lady with whom you had corresponded via email before your arrival.
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2018 via mobile

We spent one night in this cute guesthouse in Port Elizabeth. The family who owns the place was really nice and welcoming: they gave us tips on where to eat and how to get around the neighborhood, which appeared to be safe. The rooms where clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Would highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GB684
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Hello GB684,
I wish I knew who "GB684" was, but thank you so much for reviewing us and we are realy glad you enjoyed your short stay with us.
All the best.

Team Bayside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely family run business with beautifully appointed accommodation and a nice pool and garden, we were welcomed warmly and received great advice on our travels! No hesitation in recommending Samantha and her lovely staff!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jane5194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephvH, Owner at Bayside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Thank you so much Jane for this great review.
It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we are glad we could give you some advice to make the rest of your trip as pleasant as possible.
Please do visit again.
Team Bayside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews