We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good WWI Exhibit and History of the Knights, Too”

Knights of Columbus Museum
Ranked #6 of 62 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A journey through history, art & faith.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Followed up on a recommendation from a friend. Excellent display of World War I, including a full-size replica of a trench. Also an impressive display of the history of the Knights and their support of the troops during the war. Further along is a history of the Knights as an organization and a really good - but brief - description of the design and construction of the Knights' skyscraper offices in downtown New Haven. Well worh visiting, and it is free.

Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KofCMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Knights of Columbus Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

I wasn't sure what to think when I first went to the Knights of Columbus Museum, but I was pleasantly surprised. The museum is beautiful and so is the courtyard waterfall staircase. The museum has many interesting & very unusual artifacts and a historical perspective that I also found surprisingly informative. I saw a World War I exhibition that I thought was especially great. An exhibition of very old and artistic crucifixes was also something I really enjoyed. Great sculpture and paintings pertaining to a current exhibition depicting the Irish Potato Famine along with a wonderful lifesize sculpture of Mother Teresa helping the poor and destitute. The Museum is free and so is the parking. I think older children would enjoy viewing this Museum more than younger ones, but I never underestimate the wonder and perception of very young children.

1  Thank silvermanarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KofCMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Knights of Columbus Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This is a fantastic museum in quaint downtown New Haven that has free entrance and free parking despite that fact that they hold first rate exhibitions. There is always a lot of things to see and a lot of interesting information

The current exhibitions include "Escaping from Famine: Trips from Ireland," and "Beyond the Front Lines in World War I." Other exhibitions have included "Creches from Around the World", "How the Bible was Made" and the process, "Rare artifacts and exhibitions from around the world," "Mother Theresa", and many more. They even have a video room like in the science museums, and they have a pretty big store where you can buy related products.

I recommend getting lunch on a Saturday or Sunday in Downtown New Haven and then going to the museum for a nice afternoon.

Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KofCMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Knights of Columbus Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We have been to this museum 3-5 times and are looking forward to the latest exhibit on WW I and the role of the Knights of Columbus. Each year at or around Christmas, the museum has an incredible display of crèches from various parts of the world. The Russian crèches and those from Italy were really stunning. Go if you can. You will be very pleased!

Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KofCMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Knights of Columbus Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your experiences and memories of past shows. The WWI exhibit continues through December of 2018. This year's Christmas show opens November 18, but there are some early elements being installed for public view today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

What an awesome museum. They do an unbelievable job of documenting all the good work the Knights have done over their history.

With the artifacts for the different popes, to John Kennedy's membership application to Fr. McGivneys's clothing and Rosary.

They had a great exhibit about the work the Knights did during WWI to support the troops. They also had a great exhibit on the Irish potato famine and how that led to many Irish families coming to the USA. Being from an Irish family that emigrated, it was very interesting.

It also documented the work the Knights did after the terrorist stacks of September 11th. Made me even more proud to be a Knight, to se all the good works we as an order have done.

Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KofCMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Knights of Columbus Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thanks for your visit, and for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knights of Columbus Museum also viewed

 

Been to Knights of Columbus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing