We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!! Don't miss!”

Granite Mountain Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 1 hour, 1.5 hour, 2.5 hour, and 1/2 day Trail Rides. "A Ride of a Lifetime" Granite Mountain Outfitters' horses are gentle and are suited for beginner to experienced riders. Native mountain horses are sure-footed and allow for a western experience of scenic mountain views, wildflowers and wildlife. Rides are guided and specialize in scenery. An ideal group size is no more than 3-5 horses; however, larger groups are catered to on an individual basis. Riding helmets are available for children and adults at no charge and are ASTM-SEI approved. The 2.5 hour and half day rides leave at 8700ft riding to 10,000ft viewing the Sangre de Cristo's, San Luis valley, historic Mt. Ouray & the Great Sand Dunes. The hour and 1.5 hour rides leave at 8700 ft and ride to 9500 feet with views of historic Mt. Ouray, the Sangre de Christo mountains, and the San Luis Valley. We are a short driving distance from the Buena Vista and Salida area. We ride with pride and have a ton of fun!
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Wonderful riding experience! Sue is fantastic and gives all the information you need to feel safe and comfortable on the ride. We had Cody as our guide, she could not have made it more fun, full of information and encouragement. The scenery is breathtaking. We are all inexperienced riders who truly enjoyed the 1-1/2 ride, highly recommend!

Thank Carol927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraniteMountain, Head Guide at Granite Mountain Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words! We love our beautiful land and are so blessed to be able to see it for ourselves and get to share it! Inexperience can be crippling at times, but we want our guests to feel comfortable and ready to ride the trails. Our safety orientation is years of detail oriented research put together in a concise lesson for our riders. Even the most nervous end up feeling like a cowboy by the end of their ride, no matter the length! Thank you again for the feedback and encouragement!

Codi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"horseback riding"
in 40 reviews
"hour ride"
in 61 reviews
"great ride"
in 23 reviews
"aspen groves"
in 16 reviews
"well taken care"
in 15 reviews
"private ride"
in 7 reviews
"the owner"
in 25 reviews
"safety orientation"
in 5 reviews
"inexperienced riders"
in 4 reviews
"the great reviews"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 6 reviews
"long ride"
in 4 reviews
"new mexico"
in 5 reviews
"great guide"
in 10 reviews
"small group"
in 5 reviews
"great scenery"
in 6 reviews
"sangre de cristo mountains"
in 4 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Second time, wouldn't go anywhere else. Everything so professional and friendly. Can't say enough

Thank annettegonzales416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraniteMountain, Head Guide at Granite Mountain Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you so much for the repeat business! It is always a blast to recap past experiences and create new ones! Whether you're taking a short ride through the sage valleys or riding a little longer up to our 10,000 foot peak, you can rest assured it will be a fun and safe ride! We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Codi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

This was such a great experience. The wranglers gave us a complete safety demo that helped us out immensely. We have taken numerous trail rides and never had this type of attention. I’m ready to go back and do it again. Our guide was knowledgeable about the area and kept things interesting. Families can rest assured that they will have a safe and impactful experience. Don’t miss this one!

Thank mkh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraniteMountain, Head Guide at Granite Mountain Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Oh how we love our safety orientation! And we are thrilled when we have such positive feedback. We want our clients to feel comfortable and safe on our responsive horses. They know their job, but we always want the riders to know how to have the control and feel confident as we ride through sage fields, up and down mountain terrain, and wind through aspen groves. Families are the backbone of our business and our country! We love experiencing new adventures with our clients. Please come see us again!

Codi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I found a rack card for this company and decided why not?? Called and scheduled an hour ride for a few days away. When we arrived we were greeted immediately with kindness and comfort. I felt like I fit right in with little effort. The safety seminar is super helpful and very informative! There were a bunch of other people there and we figured we would be in with that group. Come to find out we actually had our own guide (Tyler) and we would get to do the ride with the two of us and him!

Tyler was super knowledgeable about his surroundings, the horses and whole nine! Great tour guide and impressive credentials. At one point my horse and I weren’t feeling the warm and fuzzies and he immediately noticed and had my husband and I switch mid ride to preserve my/our experience and make sure I still had fun! Great day. Great time. Great grounds and awesome horses. We would recommend hands down every time.

Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraniteMountain, Head Guide at Granite Mountain Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Okay. For real though y'all, Tyler loved taking y'all out of your ride! We pride ourselves in knowing our horses very well and are always watching details to make sure our guests have great rides. It's cool to witness how different horses and different people click! Diesel is one of our die hard, true blue, go to horses and he always takes care of his riders. We couldn't ask for a better guy to help people venture out into the beautiful foothills we are honored to ride on. We are so thankful to them for allowing us to step up onto their backs and partner with us to take a fun and safe ride into the mountains. We hope you come and visit again!

Codi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Went on an hour ride with three kids 10 and under. Our daughter was nervous, but Sue was patient and our daughter finished with a huge smile. It was a perfect length for kids learning to ride and the scenery was amazing. Would go back in a heartbeat.

P.S. Our 1 year old waited with Grandparents during the ride and Sue fit in a quick pony ride afterwards. Clearly, someone who cares about creating great experiences for customers.

Thank joeammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraniteMountain, Head Guide at Granite Mountain Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Our short rides are perfect for kiddos learning about confidence and trying new and exciting experiences. We have a saying that if they can make it to the magical green gate, they will love the ride! Horses can be intimidating, but with proper training (and love!) they can be great partners to walk you into new adventures. We like to start 'em young too! Pony rides are awesome introductions to the majesty of sitting on the back of such an amazing animal. They carry us where we would not be able to go on our own power! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and reference! We hope you return as the kids grow so they can continue to experience these wonderful animals!

Codi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granite Mountain Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Granite Mountain Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing