We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and helpful ”

Cornish Seal Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Gweek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seals are incredibly adorable, quirky looking creatures and to learn more about them was a real treat! There are a number of permanent residents that the sanctuary care for as they can't be released but the majority are rehabilitated and released back into the wild. The keepers are really friendly and knowledgable and seem to genuinely care about the animals - Ashley especially seemed very knowledgable and eager to talk about the animals. Along with Seals, there are also sea lions, penguins and otters - the penguins are fussy eaters so watching feeding time is really funny; definitely a must do!

Thank Chloe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SealSanctuaryGweek, Operations at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Chloe T,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review - thank you so much for your lovely words about our site and staff. I will be passing them on to our team - especially our Animal Care Team trainee, Ashley.

We hope that we see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"steep hill"
in 50 reviews
"sea lions"
in 206 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 90 reviews
"fantastic job"
in 21 reviews
"main area"
in 20 reviews
"keep up the good work"
in 29 reviews
"few hours"
in 69 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 67 reviews
"lovely place to visit"
in 37 reviews
"car park"
in 77 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 20 reviews
"hard work"
in 27 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 19 reviews
"farm animals"
in 31 reviews
"discount voucher"
in 24 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 19 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 27 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 1 920 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took a 3 1/2 yr old and a 5 month old- in push chair. A relaxed place with nice attractions- the seal and sea lion talks are good, and our daughter enjoyed watching the seals swim around and play. Also penguins, goats and horses, a rock pool (being done up when we went), play area and a woodland walk - with otters at the end,
We spent around 3 hours there, including lunch- not a huge selection but good enough and friendly staff- pasties, sausage roll, jacket pots, chips, cakes, children’s menu- Sandwich,’fruit and drink.
We used tesco vouchers for the trip. Second time in the year that we had been,
Daughter has a nice time there. We will be going back - ticket lasts for 12 months.

Thank savsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SealSanctuaryGweek, Operations at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear savsum,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a good day out with us and that your daughter enjoyed herself. I will pass on your review to our cafe staff.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit to the Seal Sanctuary & what a joy it was. The Sanctuary is a lot larger than we expected & far exceeded our expectations.
We visited the hospital first where only one seal was present which we viewed as a very positive thing. There is lots of information to read & videos of staff members talking about the treatment & care they offer for injured seals if you take the time to stop. Down the steep hill there are several pools with different varieties of seal all of whom have their own heart warming story. We timed our visit to coincide with feeding times & it was a lot of fun watching the seals dart about catching the fish. They sure were having a great time. The staff were very friendly & knowledgeable & are very happy to answer any questions & share their experiences with you.
It should be remembered that this is a Sanctuary mainly for seals who have been injured or abandoned in the wild. They are taken in, cared for & nursed back to full health before being released back into the wild. Therefore at times I am sure numbers will be limited as it is not the intention to keep them. Some of the seals are blind & badly injured so would not survive if they were returned to the wild so they remain at the Sanctuary where they have a good quality of life. The Sanctuary’s work is funded by people’s donations & entrance fee & they should be applauded for the truly amazing work that they do.

Thank Bessophi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SealSanctuaryGweek, Operations at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bessophi,

thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We really appreciate you doing so. I love your photo too - it looks like they are deep in conversation!

We are really pleased to hear that you had a good time here and that you found it educational and interesting. Our staff work hard to ensure that customers get the best out of their time here and understand the work we do, so I am really glad that this is getting across.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to visit - the children loved watching the seals swim and can’t wait to practice swimming like them

Thank smitch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SealSanctuaryGweek, Operations at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear smitch79,

thank you for your review - trying to swim like a seal sounds like lots of fun, something I will have tyo try!

Hopefully we see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this attraction last week and we were amazed. This place is great and so heartwarming five-star from me - if I could give this place any more stars I would!!

The staff take so much care of the seals they are spoilt! We were lucky enough to see them being fed and it was an amazing experience, The seals are so funny and so happy you could sit there watching them all day long! Me and the kids also learned so much about them that we hadn’t known before - so many heart warming stories came included with the seals which stole the hearts of many - also if you read the signposts then you’ll understand why the water isn’t clear!!! Not only are there seals at this attraction but it also includes penguins, otters and also sea lions - my daughter fell in love with the sea lions!

Although this attraction is little expensive it is definitely worth paying a visit as the tickets include a years membership so you can go back again and again! If you are disabled you may struggle getting up and down the hilly terrain but there is the Safari bus to transport you to the bottom where all the seals are placed. Also make sure to bring a picnic as the food can be very expensive. Don’t expect to stay here all day as we here for three and a half hours maximum but it definitely was worth it!

Thank Marrianne2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SealSanctuaryGweek, Operations at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Marrianne2365,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I really appreciate you taking the time to write it. I am so pleased to hear that your children had a good time and found it educational - and that the signage regarding the water quality was clear!

I am really glad that you had such a good time, hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornish Seal Sanctuary also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Cornish Seal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing