We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home!”
Salamander garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom
upstairs bedroom
downstairs bedroom
downstairs bathroom
Le Vermont from the back field
Norman armoire in the master bedroom
The Pointe du Hoc
the conservatory
the coast line east of Saint Pierre du Mont
The American Cemetery at Colleville sur Mer, 15 mn from us
The church at Saint Pierre, the earliest part of which dates from the 12th century
the reception committee, Georges.
the Salamander at night
Henny & Penny
Kitchen showing mezzanine and bedroom
kitchen
the Vermont gates and the Salamander
the conservatory
Salamander  garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint Pierre du Mont, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
msmaggie2...
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful home!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I and another couple shared this beautiful home for two fantastic weeks in Normandy. The home is beautifully restored and is close to the D-Day beaches. The large bathroom is handicapped accessible. As beautiful as the home is, the best part are the hosts. Hilary, Patrick, Tom and their lovable pets are warm, caring people who answer all questions with a smile and go the extra mile to help you enjoy your stay. Welcomed by a bottle of cider and given freshly laid eggs during our visit was a plus! I cannot recommend this rental enough! If we go back to Normandy, this is where we will stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the hosts
Liked least: Noting-it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edergole
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real joy”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It was a such a pleasure to be able enjoy this treasure. A tastefully refurbished traditional Norman farmstead which simply exuded both class and history. Idyllically set in beautiful countryside it was a joy to return every evening. Hilary and Patrick were super hosts, who not only shared their local knowledge freely but were at ease in making the children feel totally at home in exploring the garden and interacting with the animals. Met with a bottle of local cider on arrival and sent off with a jar of blackberry jam the only too short a stay has already drawn demands from the children to 'go back to Hilary and Patrick house'. The Salmander was beautiful restored, perfectly equipped, well stocked with reading material games and puzzles and was a joy to experience. Joe (Ireland)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atomsphere crerated by the history and the warmth of the hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eli g
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent Stay In Normandy”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family of 5 ( 3 boys, ages 17, 15 and 10) stayed at the Salamander for five nights. The owners, Hilary and Patrick were great hosts and the home was absolutely perfect. They made us feel comfortable, gave us fresh eggs, salad and cider. Our boys enjoyed playing with the owner's dogs and running around the farm. Hilary set up a badminton net and the boys played non-stop. The home was nicely furnished, the beds were very comfortable, and Hilary ensured that each of the boys had their own bed upstairs; my wife and I enjoyed the master suite downstairs. The property is near many of the WWII sites, including Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery. When you travel with 5, especially boys, laundry is always an issue but not at Hilary and Patrick's- they allowed us to use their laundry room and on our last day, we returned late from visiting Mont St. Michel and Saint Malo- Hilary removed my clothes from the cloth line and placed the folded clothes in our home- just another example of how she and her husband go above and beyond to take care of their guests. We highly recommend Le Vermont. We booked the property 6 months prior to the start of our trip and every thing was made easy by Hilary and Patrick.

Eli G, California U.S.A.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was beautiful, wonderful craftsmanship, travertine tile in bathroom, comfortable beds
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIVINGMUF...
DURHAM ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great hospitality, 10/10”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Hillary & patrick made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.
Cottage is in a great location for exploring the D-Day beaches and the rest of Normandy.
And within an hour's drive to the ferry port.
Cottage has all amenities required, and very comfortable beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice quiet location
Liked least: the day it rained
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kreativek...
Doenrade, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great Location and Beautiful poperty!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The location was perfect right near Point Du Hoc and Omaha beach and only a short drive to the American Cemetery and other D-Day sites. You can walk to the cliffs. Hilary and her family were very hospitable and provided recommendations for dinner and tips on the area. The bookshelf was filled with several books and guides for the local sites. With a well equipped kitchen and a comfortable sitting room you have everything you need. Wifi worked very well and accessible. One of the cleanest rentals we have stayed stayed in. Hilary even had a baby gate for the stares and toys for our two year old daughter. You can not ask for a better rental in the French countryside!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing